Hardiepanel-HZ10 4X8' - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2013, 02:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

hardiepanel-HZ10 4X8'


I am replacing a couple of windows with patio doors in my Florida room. I have to redo the openings and redo some of my hardiepanel-HZ10 siding. I will have the door company install the doors to retain the warranty. I plan to get a homeowners permit for the work, and when I spoke to the buildings department, they said that they would be looking for the siding installation to be done according to the manufacturer's guidelines. I have a couple of questions on this, and on their on-line guidelines.
1. They show a minimum of 6" between the bottom of the siding panel sitting on the slab and the ground. My problem is that since the original installation, a brick patio was installed leaving only about 4" of clearance. Will I have a problem passing inspection now? If so, any suggestions?
2. The existing siding sits right on the 2X4 studs with Tyvec in between. Does this meet code, or is some kind of plywood sheathing required (per Home Depot clerk) ? (Again, not clear when I read guideline)
3. When I prep the opening for the door installation, do I put the siding in and take it to the opening? or wait until after the door is in to install the siding?

Your comments and guidance will be greatly appreciated.

Advertisement

Robert711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 03:10 PM   #2
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,801
Rewards Points: 2,506
Default

hardiepanel-HZ10 4X8'


Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert711 View Post
I am replacing a couple of windows with patio doors in my Florida room. I have to redo the openings and redo some of my hardiepanel-HZ10 siding. I will have the door company install the doors to retain the warranty. I plan to get a homeowners permit for the work, and when I spoke to the buildings department, they said that they would be looking for the siding installation to be done according to the manufacturer's guidelines. I have a couple of questions on this, and on their on-line guidelines.
1. They show a minimum of 6" between the bottom of the siding panel sitting on the slab and the ground. My problem is that since the original installation, a brick patio was installed leaving only about 4" of clearance. Will I have a problem passing inspection now? If so, any suggestions?
2. The existing siding sits right on the 2X4 studs with Tyvec in between. Does this meet code, or is some kind of plywood sheathing required (per Home Depot clerk) ? (Again, not clear when I read guideline)
3. When I prep the opening for the door installation, do I put the siding in and take it to the opening? or wait until after the door is in to install the siding?

Your comments and guidance will be greatly appreciated.
1) Look again... it also says, "Maintain a minimum 1" - 2" clearance between
James Hardie® products and paths, steps and driveways." I think that would apply to you.

2)Hardie Panel can be installed directly to the studs (according to Hardie). Check with your building department to see if it's allowed in your area.

3) That's what I'd do then flash the flanges, trim over that with a head flashing over the top piece of trim.

I'd also install a sill pan flashing before the door goes in.

Advertisement

__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 03:38 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

hardiepanel-HZ10 4X8'


Thanks kwikfishron. Can you elaborate on #3? Not clear if you would go ahead and install the siding to the opening before the door is installed.
Robert711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 03:55 PM   #4
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,801
Rewards Points: 2,506
Default

hardiepanel-HZ10 4X8'


Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert711 View Post
Thanks kwikfishron. Can you elaborate on #3? Not clear if you would go ahead and install the siding to the opening before the door is installed.
Personally I wouldn't install a slider directly to the studs (although I've seen it done that way) Take a look at THIS thread. It's about T-111 siding but a sheet product all the same.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 05:58 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,972
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

hardiepanel-HZ10 4X8'


LOL, I just answered that thread, follow the head flashing link given. As far as code; #5: http://publicecodes.cyberregs.com/ic...?bu2=undefined

Ah, You have your own state code based on IBC; http://www.reedconstructiondata.com/...codes/florida/

Depending on where your shear straps/panels are located, changing to a door may require adding more shear, the AHJ will tell you; #8: http://publicecodes.cyberregs.com/ic...?bu2=undefined

OR, http://publicecodes.cyberregs.com/ic...?bu2=undefined

Or, maybe nothing, let us know...

Gary
PS. Use pan flashing under the door as that other link showed.
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 09:29 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,104
Rewards Points: 2,680
Default

hardiepanel-HZ10 4X8'


Quote:
Originally Posted by kwikfishron View Post
Personally I wouldn't install a slider directly to the studs
please explain.
Fix'n it is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 11:13 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

hardiepanel-HZ10 4X8'


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
please explain.

Yes, please.

Install door on 2X4 frame (with appropriate flashing), and then do the siding?

Advertisement

Robert711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to handle the vertical spacing between HardiePanel vertical siding? rdaisley Building & Construction 3 10-28-2012 05:56 PM
HardiePanel over concrete block workshopaholic Building & Construction 7 02-14-2012 12:13 PM
Re-siding my home with HardiePanel quackplease Building & Construction 0 02-19-2010 01:32 PM
Need suggestions on installing Hardiepanel bkoontz Building & Construction 2 11-18-2009 11:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts