Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-16-2011, 02:31 AM   #1
DIYer

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Give a first timer some advice

Hi folks

I just bought a second home as a rental property and it has unfortunately not been in good hands
The last roofing job done was 3-4 years ago and while there are no current leaks, the job visually doesn't look very professional. There are also at least 3 layers of asphalt shingles

I feel like it is probably a good idea to do a tear off and re-roof...but, I am extremely (and unfortunately) low on funds after all the closing costs and escrow holds so I am tempted to leave it as is and then next year after the rains tear it off and re-roof it myself. I had two roofing bids: one for $10k and one for $13k

I've never done an asphalt shingle roof before so I'm questioning whether I'm up to snuff for the job. I am familiar with general construction and have done a small EPDM green roof before. The house is approx. 1100 sq ft; picture attached below
Attached Images

dwoloz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 05:48 AM   #2
Residential Roofer

3 layers of shingles on a 1100 square feet, means there's roughly 2000 square feet of roof going on but roughly 6000 square feet of roof coming off.

Most likely going to be strip sheathing instead of plywood, so even of there isn't a lot off deck replacement there's going to be a lot of re-nailing of the deck boards.

There's most likely going to be issues with pulling siding off to replace step flashing's.

There's a lot of back breaking, knuckle scraping work on a 3 layer tear off even if things go good.

Slyfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:42 AM   #3

Luckily for you asphalt roofing isn't rocket science. But it is back breaking work, especially 3 layers.