Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2012, 02:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 44
Share |
Default

Gable Vent Spot


I am looking to install a gable vent with a fan in my attic. Problem is where I am going to place the vent there seems to be a beam or something in the way. My question is this: If I cut this will it compromise structure? Yellow arrow marks piece in question.
Attached Thumbnails
Gable Vent Spot-gable-vent-spot.jpg  

pjm30043 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 02:16 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,789
Default

Gable Vent Spot


Why a gable vent and not a ridge vent?
A ridge vent will vent the whole roof not just the ends of the attic.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 02:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 44
Default

Gable Vent Spot


Because I do not have any eves on the back of the house to put soffits vents in. This seemed like the next best solution.
pjm30043 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 12:24 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Default

Gable Vent Spot


Why are there no vertical studs on that (stressed) gable truss? No, do not cut it unless there are solid headers over the doors/windows in the walls below.

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gary in WA For This Useful Post:
seeyou (08-03-2012)
Old 08-03-2012, 06:57 AM   #5
Shut in w/o Home
 
seeyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 696
Default

Gable Vent Spot


Don't cut it anyway. That's a standard truss - not a gable truss.
seeyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 06:59 AM   #6
Shut in w/o Home
 
seeyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 696
Default

Gable Vent Spot


Quote:
Originally Posted by pjm30043 View Post
Because I do not have any eves on the back of the house to put soffits vents in. This seemed like the next best solution.

You still need inlet with a gable vent, especially if you're putting in a power vent. If you don't provide proper inlet, the fan can pull from inside the living space. More info is required.
seeyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 07:25 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,789
Default

Gable Vent Spot


A picture of the outside of the home may help come up with some ideas.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
seeyou (08-03-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to properly seal a gable vent? Lynch Roofing/Siding 3 08-05-2011 04:39 PM
Old Work Gable Vent obricko Roofing/Siding 0 05-21-2011 10:53 AM
ridge vent vs. gable ceiling fan snarkk Roofing/Siding 1 09-22-2010 03:06 PM
Shingling over ridge vent -details needed jogr Roofing/Siding 4 11-06-2009 05:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.