Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2012, 06:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Forgot starter strip when shingling


Mistake made on part of the roof. The guys started the shingling with no starter strip!!! We've got drip edge, and ice and water shield, and then a row of shingles installed normally. These are laminated shingles and they forgot to put down the starter strips. Now there is a big debate as to what we can do to get the bottom of that first row of shingles to stick to the ice and water shield and to the drip edge. They are all loose at the bottom. One person says use roofing cement, one says liquid nails, one says F26. I say the F26 would NEVER come off. Should we just bend back what we can and put part of a starter strip there, the part with the tarry stripe on it? Fairly windy in this part of the country. I'm worried.

marykirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:25 PM   #2
Doing This Way Too Long
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 1,157
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Forgot starter strip when shingling


Pop up the first course of nails, install starter properly, renail.

Or half-ass it with all of those other ideas and watch your eave rot out within ten years.

Your choice

OldNBroken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:26 PM   #3
I know alittle about alot
 
JWilliams850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Panama City,Florida
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Forgot starter strip when shingling


I'm agreeing with Old
JWilliams850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 07:52 PM   #4
RFN-4A-LVN
 
Roofmaster417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield and Joplin Missouri
Posts: 981
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Forgot starter strip when shingling


Someone already used a moderate amount of "F" on your roof already.

No debate,,,don't pass go,,,nobody is collecting $200,,,pull the first course and install the starter.

BTW,,since the starter was forgotten,,,don't forget to have them offset the starter with the first course and more importantly don't forget to fasten the starter.

I would be worried too,,, an experienced roofer forgetting starter strips ??? How is that ?

Last edited by Roofmaster417; 05-29-2012 at 07:55 PM.
Roofmaster417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 139
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Forgot starter strip when shingling


I agree with Roofmaster and OldNBroken.

Don't Jimmy-Rig it with some sort of space age glue, make your roofers carefully remove the nails from the first row, install starter then renail first row, DO NOT USE THE SAME NAIL HOLES. And fill old nail holes with Mastic (black roofing sealant made of asphalt and fibreglass in a caulking tube).

A small headache now, or a HUGE MIGRAINE later on, take your pic.
bcdemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 10:05 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Forgot starter strip when shingling


Thanks for the good advice. We are having it re-done as suggested. I am grateful for the voices of experience.

marykirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Hows and Whys of Furring Strips. Part-1 Willie T How To Guides 12 03-01-2013 02:58 PM
starter strip for vinyl maxwell_smart00 Building & Construction 2 12-17-2011 11:56 AM
No starter strip used on shed roof install? waterskier_erie Roofing/Siding 4 10-31-2011 08:25 PM
siding starter strip cbzdel General DIY Discussions 2 08-03-2011 03:49 PM
why does starter strip have glue on it if it goes on tar paper? KarlJay Roofing/Siding 4 11-24-2010 02:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.