DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

First new roof ... totally confused

13K views 52 replies 10 participants last post by  the roofing god 
#1 · (Edited)
This is my first time ever having to replace a roof and I have to admit I am thuroughly confused. First, the house is 9 years old and has el cheapo 3-tab shingles. The shingles are starting to curl at ends, which is what prompted me to start looking around at roofing contractors. My home is a 1500 sq. ft. ranch with an attached 2.5 car garage.

Now, the confusing part. The first contractor that came out (popular roofing company in the area .. lots of yard signs for roofs they have done) said that the roof needed replaced for sure, suggested GAF Timberline 30 and said would do tear off, new felt and GAF leak barrier and shingle house, garage and small shed for $4,700.

The second contractor came out and said I can replace this roof for aesthetics, but I bet that this thing will last you 2 - 4 more years without leaking. If I wanted to do it anyway, he uses Elk Prestique and wanted $6300 for just the house and garage.

A third contractor came out, went up in the attic (the others did not) and said that I needed to replace the roof. He wants to add 10 bird-proof vents in addition to the soffits and ridge vent and also wants $9,000 for the house and garage using Timberline 30s. He says the extra vents are needed because when they built the house they used a ton of insulation in the ceiling (which is true) and that they are needed to get out the extra heat.

I am just confused because these are three wildly different opinions on what is needed and are also a huge swing in price. None of these contractors have negative comments with the BBB and all are respected in the area.

How do I go about figuring out who is right? I do have 2 more contractors coming out to look at it too.

Thanks in advance for any help!!

See less See more
#3 ·
Are these all tear-off quotes?

can you post a photo of the current roof?