Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2012, 09:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Question

Fascia boards


Been trying to search for this answer but to no avail.

Getting ready to replace all my fascia boards (and soffit too) and I have a question. Do I need to angle the top of the fascia board to match the pitch of the roof? My old fascia boards have the angle, but when replacing is this necessary?
geocheves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 09:54 AM   #2
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 6,641
Default

Fascia boards


No, itís not necessary.

I run fascia so the outer edge of the fascia planes in with the top of the sheathing. Along with the drip edge this helps protect the sheathings edge.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kwikfishron For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (01-11-2012)
Old 01-11-2012, 10:08 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Fascia boards


Thanks. I was leaning that way but just wanted (read needed) to hear someone else agree with my thinking!
geocheves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 11:09 AM   #4
Doing This Way Too Long
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 1,062
Default

Fascia boards


Quote:
Originally Posted by kwikfishron View Post
No, itís not necessary.

I run fascia so the outer edge of the fascia planes in with the top of the sheathing. Along with the drip edge this helps protect the sheathings edge.
'zackly
OldNBroken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 05:00 PM   #5
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: VA, MD, DC
Posts: 5,043
Default

Fascia boards


Quote:
Originally Posted by kwikfishron View Post
No, itís not necessary.

I run fascia so the outer edge of the fascia planes in with the top of the sheathing. Along with the drip edge this helps protect the sheathings edge.
+2

That is the way to go.

Pulled a roof off the other day where the home builder didn't want to spend the extra money to sheet the whole roof. There was about and 8" gap between the sheathing and the fascia board around the entire perimeter...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I replace my fascia boards? schermd Carpentry 16 03-24-2011 05:46 PM
Original Fascia boards need to be replaced brickhaus Roofing/Siding 3 08-25-2010 10:10 AM
Cutting my 2 x 8 fascia boards joefromcal Roofing/Siding 4 09-09-2008 09:08 AM
Fascia cover filled with water/ice causing leaks brianbh Roofing/Siding 10 02-11-2008 07:34 PM
Are fascia boards rough carpentry? Paul58 Building & Construction 10 04-19-2006 10:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.