Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2008, 04:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Facia Repair


I am just about to install the gutter shield and found out the facia had came out.

I think some part of the beam were rotten. How can I rectify this problem?

How to install new facia?

clover77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 08:47 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Facia Repair


You nail the fascia to the tail ends of the rafters, but if that was what you were referring to when you said the beams were rotted out, then you have to sister in new rafter sections to give yourself an adequate nailing surface.

Ed

Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 01:24 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Facia Repair


Here's a little sketch of what Ed's talking about. Usually when the fascia is loose or rotten, the rafter tails and soffit framing that it attaches to are damaged. It is not hard to fix, it just takes time. You can attach 2x material to the side of the existing damaged material with nails or screws, and it will give you something to secure your new fascia to. You can do it without re-roofing in nearly all cases.

Fascia is usually made of Cedar or LP Smart Trim these days. Either will perform well. Just be sure to back prime it before you install it.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 01:25 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Facia Repair


Forgot the attachment. Jeez, I must be bored.
Attached Thumbnails
Facia Repair-roof.jpg  
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 07:43 AM   #5
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Facia Repair


Very nice diagram KCT.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 12:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Facia Repair


Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlanticWBConst. View Post
Very nice diagram KCT.
I agree. Did you do that or is it from some source to acquire such diagrams from?

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 01:28 PM   #7
Doing This Way Too Long
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 1,141
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Facia Repair


Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlanticWBConst. View Post
Very nice diagram KCT.
yeah, but you forgot your starter!!

very helpful detail, wish I could do more of that myself
OldNBroken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 06:48 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Facia Repair


Thanks fellas. Uhh, honestly....
My wife was working a night shift, I was bored out of my mind and feeling helpful. I drew it on Microsoft "Paint, which is better suited to drawing things like this than architectural drawings...
Attached Thumbnails
Facia Repair-wsdfsdfasdfsad.jpg  
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 06:49 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Facia Repair


I need to get more of a social life. Seriously.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2008, 08:29 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Facia Repair


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
I need to get more of a social life. Seriously.


What about those of us that follow your continuing cartoon class saga and drawing lessons?

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 06:32 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Facia Repair


Do I have to prime the rotten part as well?

Can I use pine wood?

Fascia is usually made of Cedar or LP Smart Trim these days. Either will perform well. Just be sure to back prime it before you install it.[/QUOTE]
clover77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 09:04 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,384
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Facia Repair


Wouldn't you be replacing the"Rotten Part"?

So, why would you prime it?

Yes, #2 Pine is an acceptable fascia wood material.

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 09:13 PM   #13
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Facia Repair


I just want to see more cartoons....


I wonder if that was a self portrait?

AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing a Refrigerator based on Repair Value 1655graff Appliances 5 03-01-2011 08:49 AM
Ceiling Drywall Repair Question kennykenny Building & Construction 6 12-30-2007 09:18 AM
Edge of roof deteriorated, how to repair? (pics) diymonkey Roofing/Siding 3 06-23-2007 01:02 AM
Installing Soffit and Facia??? Vikeologist Roofing/Siding 3 11-15-2006 05:01 PM
facia repair and gutter boman47k Carpentry 2 09-11-2006 07:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.