Electric Meter - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2013, 05:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 25
Default

electric meter


Do I need to remove the meter to put siding under or can I side around it for codd issues

Advertisement

buck545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:12 PM   #2
Mod
 
kwikfishron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas (NCK)
Posts: 7,840
Rewards Points: 2,480
Default

electric meter


It depends but usually not. What's behind the meter now? What type of siding?

Advertisement

__________________
A Picture Is Worth A Thousand Words
Especially In The DIY Chatroom
kwikfishron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 25
Default

electric meter


Its a cinder block house...going to install 1 inch strips to attach the siding to
buck545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 02:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montana
Posts: 124
Rewards Points: 75
Default

electric meter


I did my own siding last year and didn't want to remove power box so just put trim around it like the windows and doors.

If for some reason it ever has to come off then I can remove the trim and put siding up.
dabeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 02:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,785
Rewards Points: 686
Default

electric meter


Got a picture? Part depends if the meter is mounted to a base or to the wall.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 10:13 PM   #6
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,585
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

electric meter


Last time I sided an older house, the owner was getting a new service installed, so the electrician on the job left the new base with the meter loose so I could install a mounting block behind it. Don't remember if I got the block at the siding warehouse or the electrician brought it. But it was like one of these: http://www.lowes.com/pd_89145-44645-...%7C1&facetInfo=

Bigger version of the J-blocks made to mount light fixtures and the like. If you're furring out the block 1" you would want to run the furring and then mount the block to the furring.
Mike Hawkins

Advertisement

firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing an electric water heater in series with boiler paul01420 Plumbing 10 04-20-2013 09:48 PM
200 Amp or 400 Amp service Boontucky Electrical 37 07-24-2011 01:33 PM
Is My Electric Meter Correct: Conclusion. fcfcfc Electrical 0 10-03-2010 07:00 PM
Electric meter garyoutwest Electrical 1 10-02-2009 05:10 AM
Water meter aggravations KE2KB Plumbing 8 03-21-2009 07:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts