Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-13-2008, 07:07 AM   #1

Share |

Ed? IKO shingles

Ed, I have a question for you concerning IKO shingles from 2001. I put a 30 year dimensional IKO Cambridge shingle on a home back in the fall of 2001 here in Bloomington, Indiana. They are a dark colored shingle. Anyway, they have continually blown off anytime there is a 30-40 mile per hour wind. I have been roofing on my own for 12 years now and have never had this problem, all over the roof there are shingles which have not sealed, I can grab them and lift them right up as if they were just layed. It's not nail location, they just aren't sealing, and of course IKO won't stand behind them. I have been over there many times over the past few years standing behind my work but it's been over 5 years. What do you know of this time frame of shingles with IKO? What do you think of IKO shingles? Have you installed or had this problem with their product? Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Tree Frog Roofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 10:07 AM   #2

Ed? IKO shingles

The common consensus among most roofers opinions about IKO shingles is that they are the bottom of the barrel when it comes to quality and service after the fact, as you are experiencing currently.

One roofer, bit I can not remember who, has nothing but good things to say about them and also their warranty service. I guess it depends on where you are located and the commitment of the IKO staff in that particular region.