Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-31-2011, 11:18 PM   #1

Share |

Duntex Roof Remove and Reinstall Advice?

I've got a S barrel duntex concrete tile roof that is about 30 yrs old.
I plan on removing the tile carefully, removing the underlayment and renailing the plywood to currunt Fl Codes of 6" OC. and then put a layer of TU plus underlayment and polyfoam one to reset the tile.

Questions.
Is it ok to reuse my drip edge and penetration boots, they seem to all be working well and in good shape.

I'm using an open valley system and have some questions about what is the best method to reinstall the new valley?

I've never done a roof before, but have hired someone to assist me, I just want to make sure, they know what they are doing. So if someone could give the best method of doing this, I'd appreciate it.

I wanted to do a section of it at a time, he seems to think it would be better to remove everything off the roof and then reinstall everything at once, this seems really labor intensive to me with lots of walking, lifting, etc. times 2 and considering we are using ladders to haul all this up and down, it makes it much harder.

Thoughts?
I will post some pictures of my roof but on laptop right now. Will add later. BTW I'm in tampa bay area.

crackdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 06:46 AM   #2
Shut in w/o Home

The drip edge might be ok to re-use, but I'd replace all other flashings.

When we do a tile remove/relay, we set scaffolding at the roof edge and load the tile on the scaffold, rather than packing it down and then back up. Might be worth the rental.

Start on the most visible side and work to the least visible. That way, if you break any, the replacements end up on the least visible area.

seeyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 08:40 PM   #3

Thats a good idea about the Scaffold, might be worthwhile.