Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2006, 05:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 36
Share |
Default

Drip Cap or Drip Rail


I'm in the process of replacing facia board around my home. I've removed all of the existing facia board, however, much of the drip rail has been bent. I would like to remove the existing drip rail by using a putty knife to raise the shingles and a sawzall to cut the nails in order to remove the drip rail. My question is, can this be accomplished in this manner and could I slip a new drip rail under the existing shingles and secure it with roofing cement? Thanks for your input. This may also answer the previous post.

joe3534 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 07:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Default

Drip Cap or Drip Rail


What is the reason to replace the fascia?

Drip edge = drip rail

redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 07:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 36
Default

Drip Cap or Drip Rail


Facia was replace due to damage from dry wood termites.
joe3534 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 07:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Default

Drip Cap or Drip Rail


Do you have three tab style shingles?
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 08:03 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 36
Default

Drip Cap or Drip Rail


Dimensionals
joe3534 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2006, 12:25 AM   #6
Log-Style Home Contractor
 
North Country's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gaylord, MI
Posts: 27
Default

Drip Cap or Drip Rail


Shouldn't be a problem with the way your doing it.
North Country is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 12:38 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Drip Cap or Drip Rail


Hey Joe, how did it go with the roofing cement and drip rail, did it work? I am in the process replacing the facia on my house and am trying to figure out the best way to install a new drip rail.
mattflytx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 03:38 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 886
Default

Drip Cap or Drip Rail


If Joe tried to remove his drip edge with a sawsall he may still be in the hospital.

Removal is usually done with a couple of flat bars.

When you put back with new:
Try to get some nails in the top of the drip edge. Pre-drill a few holes might help. Lots of cement.

Use galvanized drip edge / it will take manhandeling much better then the AL.

Big Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a chair rail to dining room which is connected to kitchen Bacardi 151 Interior Decorating 7 07-05-2007 03:31 AM
Safety rail for loft Pam Remodeling 5 02-26-2007 01:55 PM
Furnace Drip!??! acawley22 HVAC 1 01-10-2007 08:36 PM
fascia and drip edge glassman General DIY Discussions 3 10-02-2006 06:39 PM
Wall lamps and chair rail alvanos Carpentry 1 04-26-2006 11:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.