Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-21-2007, 11:42 AM   #1

Share |

dont like what contractor had to say

I had a contractor come out to look at this roofing job and see what he was thinking and it just doesn't sound right to me.He wants to put in a reverse gable roof over to open area that will get closed in for an entry way and tie it to the top of the roof on the left in the photo and remove the section in the rear.now my concern all along has been the difference in hight on the left and right and where all the roof angels tie together in the back but after hearing this it raised a new concern for me so I asked him "if you do that wont that just make all the snow and ice slide down to the nearly flat side on the right." Now I am no pro but I do know how water ,ice and snow flows and I also know that section on the right is not at the right pitch but his answer after I pushed it some more was "we will probably have to put some wire like radiant heating in the valley but we will make it work" I am sorry but this just don't sound right to me how about anyone else? I was thinking more of raising the pitch of the roof some to help with runoff and maybe a rubber roof all the way across although I would like to have some kind of gabled roof I just don't see it.any suggestions or questions I may want to ask the next contractor would be most welcomed

clasact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2007, 03:53 PM   #2

I thought someone would have something to say but I guess I could be wrong

Old 07-24-2007, 04:07 PM   #3

Location: Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota - Latitude 45.057 Longitude -93.074

That is not just a simple little roofing problem.

You have ant entry in a "cave" surrounded by 3 or 4 different roofs the dump water where you do not want it. Changing the roof a little and using ice and water will not solve the problem.