DIY Roof Replacement - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-30-2014, 01:47 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

DIY Roof Replacement

Hello Friends,
I'm about to tackle the project of replacing my wood shake roof with asphalt shingles.

My roof is about 3k sq ft, 5/12 pitch. It isn't very complex: L-shaped ranch with two valleys and 4-5 vent pipes + chimney. The house was built in the early 60s and has venting at the ends of the attic at the peak.

My questions:
1) When I remove the wood shingles (2 layers) and expose the spaced sheathing, should I remove the 1x4 sheathing, too? I've heard that the new decking should be placed directly on the rafters. While the old sheathing isn't much weight, lighter is better, right? (Should I mention that I'm an aircraft engineer?)

2) Ventilation. I'm planning to add soffit vents. Do I also need louvered vents near the peak?

It's a good-sized project, but I'm up for the task. I have a background in construction (pre-college), and I have plenty of help from my 15 yr old son and his friends.

Thanks!
Dave

Advertisement

KSGolfnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 02:02 PM   #2
Exterior Construction

Rewards Points: 3,292

DIY Roof Replacement

If the decking is good, don't remove it. If it is good, it will take the shingle install and don't waste the money on plywood.

Soffits, if balanced properly with ridge vent, are sufficient. You need exhaust NFA for every intake NFA. Err on the side of more intake (60-40 split) if you do.

Advertisement

Windows on Wash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 02:03 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 686

DIY Roof Replacement

Hire it out.
Way to big a job to try and DIY without a real crew.
Old 07-30-2014, 03:09 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 153

DIY Roof Replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by KSGolfnut View Post
Hello Friends,