Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2012, 09:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Is this chimney flashed properly?


Had a roof put in, but I'm skeptical of the chimney flashing. I think the roofers cut the mortar out with a tile saw to install the flashing and then cemented it all back together with some kind of black goo. Is this done right? I can see gaps between the bricks...I was expecting some new mortar to be put in or at least something a little less sloppy.
Attached Thumbnails
Is this chimney flashed properly?-chimney.jpg  


Last edited by lmorsino; 06-17-2012 at 09:13 PM.
lmorsino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 10:53 PM   #2
Doing This Way Too Long
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 1,141
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Is this chimney flashed properly?


Can't tell much from that picture but it's probably np1 or something. It does look like your whole chimney is about due for some re-pointing though anyways.

OldNBroken is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 12:40 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Is this chimney flashed properly?


Hard to see with the shadows.... does the lower cap flashing tuck under the next side one as in the bottom (second) picture here:
http://www.rumford.com/chimneys/flashing.html

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:03 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Is this chimney flashed properly?


The only issue I could possibly see is where the front counter flashing (the ones that are embedded in your chimney) meets the side piece of counter flash. It "appears" to only be about an inch of coverage, and if the step flashing under that isn't tall enough, it may let water in. Again, can't see it well enough to tell for sure.
Attached Thumbnails
Is this chimney flashed properly?-chimney.jpg  
bcdemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HWH vented up chimney--want chimney gone hummer4x4guy HVAC 14 01-31-2012 10:22 AM
Proper way to flash a stone chimney Arky217 Roofing/Siding 8 01-30-2012 06:57 AM
How To Install a Chimney Liner Rockford How To Guides 0 01-24-2012 10:00 AM
Capping my chimney sbmfj General DIY Discussions 9 10-29-2011 10:45 AM
Chimney Firebox Leak Victim General DIY Discussions 1 10-26-2011 01:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.