Can I Use Architectural Shingles For Starter Row ?? - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2012, 04:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I use architectural shingles for starter row ??


I was given some Pinnacle Pristine 30 year dimensional shingles. Can I use these for the starter row ??

Advertisement

Roofing Project is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 04:41 PM   #2
Doing This Way Too Long
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 1,160
Rewards Points: 524
Default

Can I use architectural shingles for starter row ??


CAN you? Yes, but it's not correct. Should you? NO! That is why they have starter...or 3-tab

Advertisement

OldNBroken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I use architectural shingles for starter row ??


Ok.. I mean I'm not trying to half ass it but we are looking to cut costs wherever we can
Roofing Project is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:51 PM   #4
Pro Slate Roofer
 
tinner666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 1,611
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

Can I use architectural shingles for starter row ??


Buy 3-tabs and cut the tabs off so you have an 8" piece left. Nail it right side up, as low down as there is wood to nail so the sealer strip locks your shingles down.
tinner666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 06:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Gymschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio (heart of Appalachia)
Posts: 3,049
Rewards Points: 2,310
Default

Can I use architectural shingles for starter row ??


Starter strips are inexpensive. Usually 33 ft for about $12. Sure makes it a lot easier IMO.
Gymschu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 06:01 PM   #6
Exterior Construction
 
Windows on Wash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Washington DC Metro Area (VA, MD, DC)
Posts: 7,144
Rewards Points: 3,308
Default

Can I use architectural shingles for starter row ??


+1

Not worth cheaping out on that.

Starters are just as cheap as 3-Tabs around here now.
Windows on Wash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 08:16 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Can I use architectural shingles for starter row ??


Gotcha...Thanks to everyone! This site has really helped out !!
Roofing Project is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 09:07 PM   #8
MJW
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 938
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Can I use architectural shingles for starter row ??


I've seen entire complexes (100's of squares) done without a single real starter. They cut the laminated part off the timberlines and used the top portion for starters. This is a very high dollar and highly promoted exterior company in our region also. They also use all sub-contractors that are not necessarily living in our region, if you know what I mean.

Is it right though? Absolutely not. Does anyone notice besides another person in the trades? I'll bet not.
MJW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 09:18 PM   #9
Member
 
ParagonEx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 255
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Can I use architectural shingles for starter row ??


The time you save using premade starters more than pays for itself.
ParagonEx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 09:23 PM   #10
Pro Slate Roofer
 
tinner666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Richmond, Va.
Posts: 1,611
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

Can I use architectural shingles for starter row ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by ParagonEx View Post
The time you save using premade starters more than pays for itself.
Did they ever change the size of those? I only bought them once, years ago, and they were 6" wide giving a 1" headlap. I took them back and bought 3-tabs. I have never checked them since, so I'm just curious. I want the 3" headlap of an 8" 3-tab on the eave to help with ice dam issues.

Advertisement

tinner666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re-roofing Architectural Shingles over Architectural Shingles NoDIY4Me Roofing/Siding 11 04-08-2014 08:50 PM
Architectural shingles to buy vs. regular vkerns Roofing/Siding 22 11-11-2011 02:03 AM
how to make ridge cap shingles with tabless architectural shingles kw151002 Roofing/Siding 3 07-10-2009 08:15 AM
Weight vs. durability of architectural shingles JoeT Roofing/Siding 10 06-29-2009 07:50 AM
reg. or Architectural shingles? fricandfrac Building & Construction 6 04-02-2009 05:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts