Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-06-2013, 12:16 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Attic very hot!!

Hello,

I am new to these threads, so please don't get on me for beating a dead horse. I know there have been many disscussions on proper roof ventiliation and what combos (intake/exhaust) are most beneficial, but I believe those are general rules of thumb and standards/minimums. I think it's best to give my personal situation, so those standards/minimums would apply most appropriately to fixing, adjusting or improving my situation. So here it goes.....

I have a house built in 1924 with a 12/12 roof and is your typical square, balloon built home from that era. The house is only about 22' x 22', but the attic is very high, making for a decent sq ft total. Anyways, the upstairs gets so hot, it is unbearable. I completely rehabbed the house and insulated the walls, but didn't get to the attic yet because I did things as money came in. Needless to say the downstairs stays so much cooler than the upstairs. I know that not having ANY insulation in the attic is a thermal nightmare in all seasons and that is where my question starts I guess.

When I sided the house, my father and I drilled two 4' holes in each 2x4 blocking that runs in between the rafter tails and installed vented soffit. The roof already had 3 roof vents evenly spaced on one side and ovbiously were useless because there were no soffit vents before. Given all of this important and/or useless information, would adding sufficient insulation resolve the hot 2nd floor issue, or would I need to improve on the venting as well to complete a perfect system? I guess what I am asking is do I have enough intake/exhaust to maximize ventilation and if so, would R38 insulation make a huge difference on it own? OR should I plug the existing roof vents and do a ridge? Do I need more soffit vents? More exhaust?