DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Roofing/Siding (http://www.diychatroom.com/f9/)
-   -   Any opinions on vinyl gutters? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f9/any-opinions-vinyl-gutters-72221/)

McCool 05-27-2010 03:37 PM

Any opinions on vinyl gutters?
 
Hey guys,

I'm looking to install some new gutters and while walking through the hardware store I saw these:

http://www.euramaxcanada.com/productsVinylgutter.html

Long story short is this seems like a great idea to me, they snap together, working with them seems much easier than having to deal with flimsy aluminum, everything is modular which keeps things simple.

I am a little worried about the 'not having to use caulking or adhesives' claim they make, though I would probably use some anyways.

My question is has anyone worked with vinyl gutters before? Has anyone used this particular brand? Are there any draw backs to using this system? Do you guys think this is a good option or should I stick with aluminum?

Thanks.

Scuba_Dave 05-27-2010 05:18 PM

One problem I have with the vinyl gutters is that some (maybe not all) of the connections to the house cause the gutter to be too far from the house

I have vinyl (on the house when I bought it) & I will be switching to alum
With correct flashing that directs water into the gutter the problem is not as great
But water can go behind the gutter is what I have seen

seeyou 05-27-2010 05:20 PM

I've not installed this brand, but I have installed similar.

They have their applications. They don't have great capacity, so they're probably not the best bet for whole house systems. They're not a foot for foot replacement for metal gutters, But if you need a short gutter over an entry or something similar, they'll work well enough.

I've seen them used a lot in heavy snow country. Snow slides tear them off, but don't normally damage the pieces/parts. They just put them back up.

McCool 05-27-2010 07:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave (Post 447753)
One problem I have with the vinyl gutters is that some (maybe not all) of the connections to the house cause the gutter to be too far from the house

I have vinyl (on the house when I bought it) & I will be switching to alum
With correct flashing that directs water into the gutter the problem is not as great
But water can go behind the gutter is what I have seen


So aside from your problem of the gutter being too far away would you cay that they are a decent alternative to aluminum?

RoyalAcresRod 05-27-2010 09:14 PM

Recently I drove by my first house that I bought when I was 21...starting my DIY stuff....and I installed (I can't believe I remember the brand) Genova vinyl gutters. That was almost 30 years ago and the gutters still look fine.

Now, I like better the look of the metal gutters. And I do recall, as stated above, that they sit out a little further than I liked.

Scuba_Dave 05-27-2010 09:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by McCool (Post 447850)
So aside from your problem of the gutter being too far away would you say that they are a decent alternative to aluminum?

Yes, they were easy to assemble & take off
Since I redid the back roof (dormer) I removed them & re-installed later
Less prone to damage from a ladder I'd say
They are at least 12 years old I'd say & look fine

I bought another 20' when I added a sunroom to the back

McCool 05-27-2010 09:43 PM

Reading around on the net people say that they expand and contract a lot over the different season, I live in a pretty cold climate, I don't know how bad the winters get in Boston, but how did the vinyl hold up in the cold? did they shrink a lot or was it not an issue?

Thanks,

RoyalAcresRod 05-27-2010 09:49 PM

My recollection is that you can paint the outside but if you leave the interior white the expansion will not be bad. Don't know of they still have, but the ones I did had rubber seals that allowed a little movement for expansion


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.