Advice For Insul./vent. Of Garage Roof? - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-13-2007, 06:09 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

advice for insul./vent. of garage roof?

The scenario is this, the primary purpose of my two car garage (just under 400 sqft) is to shelter one vehicle. The secondary purpose will be a home shop. I'm a cabinetmaker by trade. I want to insulate the space for both acoustic and thermal reasons. The location is in a mild climate zone that mandates neither active heating or cooling. The insulation will provide however, the passive benefits of both.

The garage has a mansard style roof. It's built with 2x4 trusses. I want to insulate it along the rooflines, keeping open the framing to the lower work area. I have already furred out the rafters (or top cords) with 2x2s, so as to create air space between the insulation and the sheathing. There is a central roof vent already in place. I'm thinking that I should sister in some framing that creates a larger air space under the central vent. Question #1. How much space would be wise?

Now the harder part...