Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring > Tiling, ceramics, marble

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-07-2010, 11:21 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 156

Waterproofing Durock?

Hey guys and gals I would appreciate a relativley quick response on this one. I have a fiberglass tub that I am going to be doing a tile surround with. I have the durock in place already and the fibermesh tape has been applied along with the mortar on the joints. Am I now ready to apply my mortar to install the tile or do I need to waterproof the durock before I install the tile. I have a 5 mil vapor barrier behind the durock if that matters. This shower will be used about 1 time every two weeks as it is a guest bathroom only. What waterproof material would you recommend and what is the general method to install it. Thanks

ryan5068 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 01:59 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

Waterproofing Durock?

i'm no pro so don't quote me, but I can at least give you a direction to do some more research.

i don't think waterproofing is required. durock is water resistant in that it will not be damaged from moisture, but not waterproof in that it will block water. redgard & schluter kerdi are products that are used for water proofing. u can look further into that if u wish.

acerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 06:37 AM   #3

Waterproofing Durock?

I have looked at Redgard and that looks pretty easy to use. My original thoughts were since the shower will be used so seldomly I'm thinking a full waterproof job could be overboard. I always wipe the tiles down to as soon as the shower is done. I am just thinking I will use the thinset and get the tiles installed. If anyone disagrees speak soon. Thanks
Old 07-09-2010, 05:55 AM   #4
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 2,452

Waterproofing Durock?

You should be fine without waterproofing.