Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring > Tiling, ceramics, marble

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-21-2009, 08:30 PM   #1

Share |

Ugly tile, but I don't want to replace

I have ugly tile around my fireplace. Everything I think of to cover it seems to be a no-no: paint, plaster, tile over, concrete...
I really want a marble surround, but my budget thinks differently. Should I just give up, save my pennies, and hire a professional or is there something I can do for now to make it look better?
gingerbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 09:36 PM   #2

"I'm a wanna-be woodworker, seamstress, decorative painter, interior designer, etc. "

We have things in common.

I was in a similar situation with my ugly brick fireplace. I have wanted to resurface it for a long time but kept getting discouraged from everyone who told me I couldn't do it and should hire it out. Well, the price for the experts to do the job started at $3000 for something simple and went up from there. More money than I wanted to spend. So I decided to do it myself.

I removed a raised hearth - started out chiseling by hand UGH!! Went to Harbor Freight, spent $60 for a Rotary Hammer and it was out in 40 minutes - easily. Spend the money, save your body!!

I'm just about done tiling my fireplace - cost for tile & mortar was just under $100 so very affordable. Have you checked into the marble or granite tiles? Fireplaces have less square feet than other things so you don't have to buy a ton of tiles, therefore less money spent.

Good luck!
roxksears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 01:12 AM   #3