Tiling Saw Preference -which One? - Tiling, ceramics, marble - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring > Tiling, ceramics, marble

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-17-2012, 02:57 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Tiling Saw Preference -which one?

I have a small tiling job to do. Small to most, big to me but I do need a saw to make a few cuts. I have a choice between an MK Diamond 170 or a Ridgid R4020. Both are entry level wet tile saws in the $200 range. I'm not a professional. This saw will be used for single projects and not used every day or to make a living with. Thats for the pro's here that will say their both crap and not worth the money. I just need to make a few straight cuts and a couple of 45's to picture frame some 1" pencil tiles around a small tile mural. This is what I can afford and thought either would do the job. Hoping that someone here has had experience with either of these saws and is willing to state a preference.

Advertisement

foiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 04:49 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 610

Both will work, but for that small a job I'd just buy a small table saw type model.

Advertisement

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 01:02 AM   #3

I believe both of these are small table top, portable saws. I did see a couple of cheaper ones under $100. The construction on them where quite flimsy and the power very low, about 1/3 hp or less. I'd be afraid to get them wet. They might dissolve.
foiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:31 AM   #4

Rewards Points: 250