Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring > Tiling, ceramics, marble

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-30-2009, 12:59 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Tile floor replacement in kitchen

OK, this is a 1st time job for me...no really. I have no experience but have read some postings on putting down new tile on a floor. I have the tile, it is 12x12 and Made in Peru (even though the box says "U.S. Ceramic Tile.") At least it's not Chinese made. The tile is 9/32 thick.

The backer board is 1/4 inch thick, GCS "Durabacker w/Edgetech." Each piece is 5 feet by 3 feet, and the manufacturer is Daltile.

And last but not least, I do not know how to select the mortar. I read a lot of the postings about "mud", "thinset", and it seems that JAZ MAN is very knowledgable and I certainly hope he reads this and replies.

But what kind of mortar works best? Is it modified or unmodified? Do I need to put it on the backerboard underneath to adhere to the subfloor? (The house is old, 1955, and kitchen is 150 s.f.)

How do I install the backer board? Screw it?

How do I cut the backerboard? How do I cut the tile when I need to put down odd sizes?

Thank-you,

Ol Rick

ol rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2009, 01:17 PM   #2
Handyguy

Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik

Tile floor replacement in kitchen

wow rick - lots of questions. I'll do my best. I suggest you get a book on laying tile. It will show you all the steps.'

First you need to make sure the floor is sturdy enough. You install the backerboard into a bed of thinset AND screw it to the subfloor with special screws made for this purpse. I almost always use "modified" thinset or use regular thinset and mix it with the modifier and not water. You cut the backer board with a utility knife, score it a few times and it will break on the score line.