Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring > Tiling, ceramics, marble

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-01-2010, 01:18 PM   #1

Share |

New base for Tile floor in kitchen

I'm a little new to this posting so here goes.

I currently have lino in the kitchen and it is pealing up on the edges. From what I've read this seems to be the logical thing to do. However through my reading I've found out there is generally and underlayment over the sub-floor. Not true in my case it seems to be glued to the sub-floor.

Questions is; what is the approriate base for a tile project once the lino is removed? I'm assuming the plywood sub-floor will remain. But am unclear about what materials to use and the thickness I should have to build the floorup. Local Lowes folks say to use concrete board and go on. Is ths right, or are they trying to sell concrete board?

By the way I'm looking at using 18 x 18" tile.

I'd really appreciate suggestions or thoughts.

thanks

Jaybirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 01:58 PM   #2
BJ

There are 2 ways that I've done kitchen floor that give them a realy nice extra look. I did one floor in the regular pattern, then I cut tiles to run up and cover the baseboards of the cabinets. I just put those on with Liquid Nail. It made the kitchen look nicer and made the slop from mopping easy to see and clean.

The best way to lay tile is at a 45 degree angle. My neighbors have helped put it 3 houses.

A straight run is still a straight run reguadless of the angle. Then to cut the tiles where the meet the walls all you do it put a Quick Square on the tile say and it will give you the perfect angle.

Runing the tiles at a 45 gives the room a completely different look than one where the grout lines are running in the normal direction.