Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring > Tiling, ceramics, marble

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-09-2009, 03:46 AM   #1
AnySeason Home Improvemet

Send a message via Yahoo to AnySeason
Share |

Ceramic Tile flooring ISSUES!!!!!

Can anyone in here tell me what is the properway ceramic tile should be laid on a ply wood sub floor?

AnySeason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 04:57 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnySeason View Post
Can anyone in here tell me what is the properway ceramic tile should be laid on a ply wood sub floor?
Since I'm not an expert, take what I say with a grain of salt, but here are my two cents.
There are lots of resources on the internet for how to lay ceramic tile. One thing you probably shouldn't do, unless you like cracked tile and joints and possibly other issues, is lay any kind of tile on a subfloor. You need an underlayment of some kind, like Ditra's or a cement based backerboard. You can use plywood as well if you want, but you'll need to put more on top of the subfloor and make sure to use the rougher side facing up.

It says you're a home improvement company.... are you sure you're the best person to be doing tile work if you have to ask this question?

dhoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 10:30 AM   #3

Hey thanks for your reply i already have years of experience installing ceramic floor have pics on my flooring site http://www.anyseasonfirst.com to prove it. What im trying to do i guess is see different methods others or doing reguardless of my years of experience in this field and others im never to proud to ask question and see how others or doing it but thanks for your response.
Old 05-10-2009, 07:14 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnySeason View Post
You don't, you should be using a tile backer,be it a CBU, membrane or Mud job.
R&D Tile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 10:10 PM   #5