Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring > Tiling, ceramics, marble

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-01-2011, 10:22 PM   #1

Share |

Can thinset cover slight imperfections in a floor?

Hi all,
THis is my first time posting. I'm a first time homeowner, and I've heard this site is a great reference tool.

I'm planning on tiling our powder room with 12x12 travertine, it's 3x6 foot room, so it's very small. There is linoleum presently on the floor. The subfloor is wood, not sure how thick, but the basement is below the powder room. I've heard mixed advice saying either to rip it up, or lay the tile directly on top of it, or lay cement board first held down with thinset and screws.

There is a slight unlevel section of the room, maybe 1/8 of an inch, where there is presently a pedestal sink, which will be replaced by a vanity, which will pretty much cover where anyone will be stepping.

If I apply thinset or if I end up laying the cement board, will it take care of that slight imperfection?

Thanks!

gtothek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 02:35 AM   #2
renovation contractor

Concrete board will not fix any imperfections. It may increase the problem.
travertine is a great choice but is quite thick. You will have problems with the transition between floors.
My advice is to tear out all that is there now and start again.
Self leveling grout is the only way to level problem areas, but you must use the appropriate primer on the plywood subflooror it will not adhere properly.
for a small problem like that I would use a nylon or plastic mesh stapled to the floor and the lay the tiles on that. If you are not experienced , I would suggest laying a screed coat of thinset and let it dry. You can then lay the tile.White thinset only.
Make sure you use a good quality sealer on the stone before you grout and again after Hope this helps

B.D.R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:47 AM   #3