Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Flooring > Tiling, ceramics, marble

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-19-2013, 07:25 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Basement ceramic tile layout. Where to start?

Here is a rough/not to scale floo rplan of my small approx. 600 sq.ft basement.
I plan on installing 12x12" ceramic myself. I have some experience on tile installation, but my biggest question is where do I start to get the best looking and straightest installation? I know that I need a straight chalk line for a reference but how many to use and where to snap it/them??

Thanks to all!!!!!!!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Basement ceramic tile layout. Where to start?-floorplan.jpg  

mlijoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 10:25 AM   #2
Bill Kearney

Rewards Points: 1,126

Where's the stairs? Generally you want to try to start a layout so there won't be awkward little cuts in places that draw your attention. That and you can use a threshold in the doorways to break up the field and allow a more suitable one in the smaller rooms. It would be difficult to lay out the whole family room space in a way that also worked in the bath and laundry.

One tip, there's a free drawing program called 'Sketchup' that's very handy for modeling stuff like this. www.sketchup.com

Along with a video demonstrating one way to use it:

wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 11:01 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 75

Thanks for the reply. I was under the impression that a chalk like should be snapped along the longest run and another line snapped 90 degrees to that one and lay out from the first tile being inside the 90 degree angle?
mlijoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 11:14 AM   #4
Bill Kearney

Rewards Points: 1,126