Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-14-2010, 08:40 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

shower doors

how is the bottom aluminum track for the doors fastened to the tile threshold ???

saltysenior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 10:00 AM   #2
the Musigician

Rewards Points: 2,000

shower doors

I would imagine 100% silicone, (it's what I used with our shower doors on the tub) but I have very little experience with doing this.

DM

Old 09-14-2010, 10:01 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 25

shower doors

I worked for a glass company that installed a lot of custom shower doors. When we did bypass doors we did not ever screw the bottom track or channel because that is asking for trouble.

The way we would install them is by laying down the bottom track dry, then setting the jambs dry and marking where to drill the tile. Drill the tile, set anchors if necessary and then clean up thoroughly. Now we would set the bottom track. On the nicer heavier glass doors, and some other nicer doors, the bottom track has a track for you to run a nice thick bead of silicon, so you run that bead and then set it on the tub or tile. If there was no place to run a bead then we would set it dry because otherwise you would have to use a on of silicone to fill the hollow void. After the track is set then set the jambs and header and hang and adjust doors. After that run a bead of silicone across the bottom of the track on the inside as well as the jambs.

On frameless enclosures where a sidelite panel would go down to the threshold we would use a high bond tape (very strong, feels as strong as screws) to hold the channel and the run the silicone after.
jegolopolli is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jegolopolli For This Useful Post:
DangerMouse (09-14-2010)
Old 09-14-2010, 10:28 AM   #4
the Musigician

shower doors

Quote: