Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-22-2009, 01:13 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Rotting Grout in OLD Bathroom

Hello All,

I'm brand new to this and am currently unemployed. This gives me a lot of time to sit around and think of how to better this old home. The house is from the 1920's or so and has been added on through the years. We're concerned on how to replace the tiles in our bathroom.

The grout is currently black in our bathroom and the glue has started to squeeze through the tiles. I think we're afraid to look behind the tiles since we suspect mold. I've taken tiles off of another bathroom elsewhere in the house and it seems like the backing is plaster. I'm wondering if this was normal for "back in the day"? If so, can liquid nails hold the new plastic surround up to the plaster?

As for the molded grout....should we take out all of the tiles and just replace with a plastic surround like the other bathroom? We also don't have any fans in the bathrooms and I can only assume that that is one of the reasons for the mold.

Please help. We are limited with money and if there's anything I can do on my own, it would make me feel a little more helpful.

Thanks, Jess

JessInTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 06:38 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,000

Replacing the grout may be a short term fix only. But an important first step is to get good ventilation into that bath. Anything you do will be a problem if moisture is not removed. Remove the tiles if you plan on any correct fix. Add the proper backing (CBU) and waterproofing if you tile again. Do it right even with a limited budget.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 07:28 AM   #3