Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-29-2012, 06:31 PM   #1

Share |

Removing tile from a shower stall that has an exterior wall... need help

I'm a complete noob about tile removal, but I've been watching and reading a lot and think I'm ready to start re-doing my shower stall. I've taken a chisel and taken out some of the ceramic tile. After watching the videos I expected to find a pretty clear backerboard, but instead found what I wasn't expecting...

My home is CBC construction (about 30 year old home), and when I started chipping off tiles I found the that the backing chipped off much further back than expected. I'm pretty sure I'm chipping into plaster but am not sure. Please see the pictures here.. Do I need to replaster the wall?

What am I dealing with here? Do I need to stop doing what I'm doing? When I go to install backboard in the stall, what do I do about this wall? I can't find advice about tiling against an exterior facing wall like this.

Last edited by Mattitude; 06-29-2012 at 06:37 PM.
Mattitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 09:58 AM   #2

if it were me = i would rip out all of that, down to the studs. and then use Kerdi to redo it all. i am ripping down P&L walls right now. once you figure out how to do it, its not that bad. and you have a small area there. i am doing most of a house, but not the ceilings.

i cannot speak for what insulation to put behind the wall, but someone may comment on that for you.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:20 AM   #3