Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2011, 07:18 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Putting in tub


I am putting in a new tub and it is about 1/8 inch to long. Should I notch some of the stud out to make it fit? Any help and ideas would be great. Thank you.
Mike

mjs1015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 07:39 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 47
Default

Putting in tub


What is the tub made of? You may be able to just trim the the tub itself. If you can't then you may have to cut into the studs. But to drop the tub in you will have to go up the wall a good three feet or so. Good luck!

Rick
http://myhandyadvice.blogspot.com/

sharpsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 10:26 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

Putting in tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by sharpsport View Post
What is the tub made of? You may be able to just trim the the tub itself. If you can't then you may have to cut into the studs. But to drop the tub in you will have to go up the wall a good three feet or so. Good luck!

Rick
http://myhandyadvice.blogspot.com/
You do not want to trim the tub.
What sort of advice is that?
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 10:28 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Putting in tub


Thanks guys but I ended up trimming the wall studs and it fits. Thank you for your replys
mjs1015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 06:41 AM   #5
Not so new
 
12penny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Posts: 932
Default

Putting in tub


trim the tub.....what a hoot. lmao
12penny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 06:46 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 47
Default

Putting in tub


I work for a bathroom remodeling company, and the tubs that we use are able to be trimmed. Do it every day fellas.

Rick
sharpsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 07:24 AM   #7
Not so new
 
12penny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Posts: 932
Default

Putting in tub


sorry....just sounded funny. I've installed a fair amount of tubs myself and I dont think I've ever considered trimming the tub.

I have few questions though. What tool do you use to trim a tub? How much can you trim from a tub and are these special trimmable tubs you use?

Learn sumthin new everyday.
TIA
12penny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 07:58 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 47
Default

Putting in tub


The tubs we use are made of 1/4" acrylic and are cut with a jig saw. Most of the time a trim is required it is only 1/8" to 1/4". This excess is taken from the flange used to fasten the tub to the studs. Obviously, no one will have the option of trimming a cast iron, or steel tub, but with certain tubs it is an option. The only major thing to consider when carving into the studs instead of trimming the tub is recessing the tub too far. The wall of choice to be installed after the tub will need at least a little of the tub rail to sit on.

Rick
sharpsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 08:15 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

Putting in tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by sharpsport View Post
I work for a bathroom remodeling company, and the tubs that we use are able to be trimmed. Do it every day fellas.

Rick
Still think it's a stupid idea. Just because you can cut into a plastic tub, doesn't mean it should be done.
The fact you need to do it "every day" is more then a little disturbing. Feel free to list any tub manufacturer that has a cutting scenario in their installation instructions.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 08:35 AM   #10
Not so new
 
12penny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Posts: 932
Default

Putting in tub


. ....so if you cut the flange off, how do you attach it to the wall framing. And isnt the lip also there to prevent water from going into the wall.
12penny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 08:42 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Putting in tub


Sorry for starting a little dispute here lol. I have another question. On the one side of the tub and wall (I got a kit) the flange sticks out past the wall. I don't want to cut it off because I want to attach it. Should I just put a 2x4 there? Ill attach a picture. Thanks guys.
Attached Images
 
mjs1015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 08:56 AM   #12
Not so new
 
12penny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pa.
Posts: 932
Default

Putting in tub


....you're going to have to do something. Cant leave it that way. Add full length 2x4 or maybe 2, it sticks out there pretty far. Wrap with something moisture/mold/mildew resistant. I'd replace the rotten studs too.


And theres no dispute. Its a matter of ethics.
12penny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 10:33 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

Putting in tub


Isn't this tub supposed to be supported on all three sides with a cleat?
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 08:54 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 142
Default

Putting in tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
Isn't this tub supposed to be supported on all three sides with a cleat?
Ron
A lot of the new plastic tubs dont use a cleat. All they require is to be set in mortar and then nail the flange to the studs. Thats the way the kohler sterling tubs are installed.

usually the steel tubs use a cleat.
paul100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 08:56 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Putting in tub


Yeah the directions didn't say to use a cleat. It was a farely simple installation. Thanks for all your replys I appreciate it.

mjs1015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building platform for indoor putting green jwolf02 Building & Construction 1 11-23-2010 08:32 PM
Drywall trouble when putting in can lights ritzambi Drywall & Plaster 12 05-19-2010 08:27 PM
Putting a gas line in cement slab wskiarea Remodeling 2 03-26-2010 06:59 PM
putting up car shelter mudpaws Building & Construction 1 04-27-2009 10:32 PM
putting in new service tracy Electrical 4 12-30-2008 10:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.