Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-04-2014, 08:04 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

new shower by newbie!!!

Hello pros, I'm a newbie to the this site, but was hoping for some direction. I have a 60"x35" fiberglass shower unit that I am ripping out! I am going to tile the walls for sure! The question is to tile or not to tile the floor??? Researched internet and found bases that are tile ready, for example tile redi, and redgard. Not so sure for these products though... Are they easy to use? Is it hard to tile a floor? I guess my only options are a plastic looking fiberglass base or tile, right? No contractors involved, this is just me myself and I with this one. Don't want anything too complicated by I want it to look nice. Thanks for any advise or direction you can give me.

zinopower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 09:57 AM   #2
Stuck in the 70's

Rewards Points: 1,018

new shower by newbie!!!

Tiling a floor is a bit harder since you have to deal with the slope. I went with a fiberglass pan because I simply did not want to scrub all that grout.

Tile redi?

Read this:
Tile Redi Shower pan question

Blondesense is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Blondesense For This Useful Post:
zinopower (08-04-2014)
Old 08-04-2014, 10:21 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,246

new shower by newbie!!!

I would definitely want a tiled floor with a tiled shower. Schluter Kerdi is a relatively easy shower floor system to use, and the shower kit makes waterproofing your shower relatively easy too.
jeffnc is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jeffnc For This Useful Post:
zinopower (08-04-2014)
Old 08-04-2014, 12:08 PM   #4
Tileguy

Rewards Points: 2,128

new shower by newbie!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zinopower View Post