Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-27-2014, 03:54 PM   #1

Share |

My Bathroom Remodel- First Time

Hello! This is my first attempt at a remodel. I am quite nervous. Hope I didnt get in over my head.

My wife and I just recently purchased our first home together. This is by far the worst room of them all. We absolutely hate it!!

My plan is a walk in tiled shower, new vanity/sink, mirror, lighting, paint, tile floor and probably a round toilet other than the current oval.

For the shower pan, I plan on buying the goof proof products. Not sure about the vanity and lighting. We are probably gonna use an impervious tile. We were gonna go with travertine but not sure since it seems porous.

Any and all feedback is welcome! Thanks for looking. I keep this thread constantly updated. Thanks! :D

Here is my progress so far today...just started

tcoche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 04:18 PM   #2

You got rid of the mirror above toilet?? I always wondered what I look like taking a leak If you have any questions lets us know.

JustinK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 04:21 PM   #3

Showers need a 2" drain, is this a slab?
No clue what the "goof proof" products are.
Travertine is the last tile I would choose for a bathroom, as you stated it's porous and brittle.
You need ceramic or porcelain.
http://www.schluter.com/4625.aspx
tcoche (04-28-2014)
Old 04-27-2014, 04:30 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinK View Post
You got rid of the mirror above toilet?? I always wondered what I look like taking a leak If you have any questions lets us know.

Hahaha!!! Yeah unfortunately it had to go

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Showers need a 2" drain, is this a slab?

No clue what the "goof proof" products are.