Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-25-2010, 09:26 AM   #1

Share |
Question

Master Bathroom Shower Demo/Remod.

I will be remodeling the Master Bathroom as we have had a tile loosen and drop in the shower. I a little history on the home, it was built in 1987 and is roughly <1500 Sq. Ft., Plenty as a first home to my wife, dog, and I. I am located in Tulsa, OK and the home is on a single floor, poured concrete foundation.

I am a 10 year aircraft mechanic, so I am mechanically inclined and have done little jobs here and there already on the home (IE. Small Repairs such as drywall, plumbing, put up crown molding, etc.), I am also somewhat efficient at replacing automobile parts (shocks/struts, brakes, spark plugs, header gaskets, oil pans gaskets, etc.). I feel pretty confident that with this forums help that I could do this to the best of my ability and come out ahead. I just have a few questions, and by all means let me know if I may be above my head.

DEMOLITION:

1. What is the best method to pull the cement board and the tile of the wall? Pry bar and a hammer? do you think it would come off in sheets?
  2. The shower is in a roughly a 3x4 shower with a 8' ceiling. about 6' up the tile ends and drywall appears. I plan on taking the new tile up and enclose the shower with tile. Should I rip out that old drywall and install cement board?
  3. Shower Pan - I want to say that this is a lead lined shower pan (did they do those back in the late 1980's?). I believe the lead has, overtime, settled in the flooring so the water collects around the outsides of the floor. What is the best method for removal of this?

INSTALL: