Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-31-2011, 07:07 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25

Kitchen wall paneling and cabinets

Hello, this is my first time using these forums so excuse me if I miss any details.

I recently decided to take down the 1970's wood paneling from our kitchen and dining areas and replace it with sheetrock and concrete backer board so we can put up a backsplash.

We're on a tight budget and do things as we can afford them and unfortunately new kitchen cabinets are nowhere near being in our budget. My plan was to take the cabinets down and off the walls so we can put up the Sheetrock (as well as insulate between the garage and kitchen which has none at the moment). I was then going to sand the cabinets down and restain them (if possible due to their age).

My main concern now is the cabinet boxes are nailed in and not screwed in. After 30-40 years, what are the risks of me ruining the boxes trying to get them off the wall? I really can't see any other way of getting them off without using a crowbar and with the way the upper body of the boxes are constructed I am betting that will break the wood before the nails pull out of the studs.

Any advice is appreciated.

dazoli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:36 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by dazoli View Post
Hello, this is my first time using these forums so excuse me if I miss any details.

I recently decided to take down the 1970's wood paneling from our kitchen and dining areas and replace it with sheetrock and concrete backer board so we can put up a backsplash.