Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-01-2011, 06:34 PM   #1

Share |
Angry

Kitchen cabinets hung "crooked"...

Our GC installed our custom Omega cabinets last week. Today I noticed that the corner hanging cabinets are crooked. One side is 18 1/4" above the counter and the other side is 17 3/4". It's a short cabinet, about 36" x 30" so the difference is extreme enough that I noticed enough to pull out my measuring tape to check it.

GC says it was hung crooked because the walls are not straight... something about the sheer wall on one side.

Really? Is there no simple way to hang the cabinet straight? I think if I were doing it (and I am no professional) even I could figure out some way to do it and trim the edge or something.....

sfsolar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 07:55 PM   #2

Cabinets should be shimmed out to be straight & level
In many cases this then means some additional trim is needed to hide the gap between cabinet & the wall

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 07:55 PM   #3
Civil Engineer

Something is totally off about this discussion. The counter should be level, and the cabinets should be level. By level I mean that a bubble level placed on the counter should be level, same for the cabinets. By definition, if the counter is level, and the cabinet is level, the cabinet must be the same height above the counter on both ends. Since the cabinet is a different height above the counter on different ends, either the counter is out of level, or the cabinet is out of level, or both are out of level. Check the counter with a bubble level, then check the cabinet, and see which one is off, and get the contractor to correct the problem.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 10:28 PM   #4