Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-25-2010, 05:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 32
Share |
Default

install overmount tub in alcove


Greeetings,

I'm going to install a soaking tub in an existing alcove. The tub will just fit now (60" by 32") if it is installed NOT as an overmount but as in Figure 2 of the attached picture. I can increase the size of the alcove a bit so that the tub can be installed as an overmount (i.e., drop-in) as shown in Figure 1. But if I do that, I will form a "channel" along three sides of the tub in which water will collect. My wife wants the overmount look, and suggests that installing a handshower instead of a high showerhead will mean that this channel will stay dry. I'm not so sure. The last possibility is to install as a tub only, so very little water could find its way into the channel.

As for me, I hate to design something with a place for water to collect, even if there is no shower at all. I'd rather go for the Figure 2 install on three sides and then the overmount style on just the front of the tub. That way, there are no worries about standing water and we can have a handshower or even a high showerhead if we want.

I guess my question really concerns my stubborn position that we not design in a channel in which water can collect. If it is a tub only, would such channel be OK?

Tom
Attached Thumbnails
install overmount tub in alcove-tub-install.jpg  

tom31415926 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 05:15 PM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,498
Default

install overmount tub in alcove


Picture one is a failure waiting to happen. I'm not crazy about option two either--fiberglass tubs flex a lot--will the bead of caulk under the tile hold up over time?

Can you find a tub with a tiling flange in a size and style that you like?

oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 05:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 32
Default

install overmount tub in alcove


Thanks oh'mike. Here is a manufacturer's installation figure; does it look any better? We tried hard to find a flanged soaking tub like this one. This is a Porcher Tetsu soaking tub, which has really great specs in terms of depth to overflow and gallons to overflow.

I heard that setting the tub on a mortar bed will help decrease flexing.

I must admit that I'm not in love with "sealant" because it will mildew where it transitions to grout.

Tom
Attached Images
 
tom31415926 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 05:59 PM   #4
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,498
Default

install overmount tub in alcove


With that illustration the tub is touching the studs. The 'tile bead strip' must be the mating surface that would be caulked to the tub deck and again to the tile backer.

I think that system will work.--Good ides to use a paint on waterproofing in that area as well--

Yes to setting the tub into some mortar --do check the manufacturers recommendations. --Mike--

There is another post about tile or fiberglass shower---the waterproofing is discussed there.Tile or fiberglass shower?

Last edited by oh'mike; 07-25-2010 at 06:02 PM.
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
tom31415926 (07-27-2010)
Old 07-25-2010, 06:08 PM   #5
Tileguy
 
Bud Cline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10,060
Default

install overmount tub in alcove


Setting the tub in mortar is to mitigate flexing of the base under a users weight. It won't have any effect on the flexing of the sides when water and people are added.
__________________
Make Your Nominations For September 2014 DIYer of the Month
Bud Cline is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 06:08 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 32
Default

install overmount tub in alcove


Thanks, everyone, for your help.

I see what ohmike says about the tub edge contacting the wall. I'll be sure to have continuous contact along that edge; should help mitigate flexing a lot.

I may post future questions in this thread. I will post when the install is done.

Tom

tom31415926 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tom31415926 For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (07-28-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cutting shingles to install gutters Chicago Bill General DIY Discussions 2 02-27-2009 05:42 AM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
When to install tile flooring? MT Stringer Remodeling 4 10-28-2008 08:49 PM
How to install resilient channel on ceiling Bcoleman6 Building & Construction 1 08-22-2008 02:29 PM
Fiberock install STUPID Flooring 5 10-16-2007 06:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.