Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-22-2012, 05:08 PM   #1

Share |

Ideas for installing a barrier free (roll-in) shower

Hi, I have been a residential general contractor for 40+ years, but this has me scratching my head.

I need to expand a half bath that is currently 5' x 5' to 5' x 8' to construct a barrier free wheelchair accessible shower. The room is on a concrete slab.

I don't want to cut a 3' x 5' section out of the slab as I am concerned with reducing the slabs integrity (don't want cracks down the road). I will have to cut a small section to install the drain and trap, and connect to the existing plumbing, but that can be done near the foundation wall and should not affect the slab strength a great deal. I am going to build-up the shower receptor. And, that brings me to the issue. What can I use to build up the floor elevation in the original part of the bath?

I suppose I could simply place and finish another layer of concrete over the existing slab. I need to raise the elevation by 2.5". That would require just over 5 cu. ft. of concrete.

Any other ideas?

Don't worry about the elevation of the finished floor in the adjacent bedroom, that will be taken care of with the installation of a new hardwood floor.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

psydoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 07:12 PM   #2

For one thing the room may be two small to have it be a legal ADA bathroom.
http://www.ehow.com/how_8169149_desi...-bathroom.html

Why not taper the whole floor toward the drain as your raising the floor?

Last edited by joecaption; 03-22-2012 at 07:21 PM.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
psydoc (03-25-2012)
Old 03-22-2012, 08:50 PM   #3