Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2011, 12:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,736
Share |
Default

How best to patch this wall?


As well as how best to mount this outlet?

I am in the process of installing a new dedicated 15 amp outlet for the refrigerator as recommended. It could just as easily be a 20 amp but I have just enough 14/2 conductgor left over to do it this way.

On to my main question. What is in the wall is an old cement based product that crumbles easily. Refer to my other thread On to the kitchen . You can see that my walls are not conventional. Here it looks like there are cinderblocke sitting on top of a wood beam. On top of those two courses will be the large beam that sits on top of the cinderblocks in the other thread pictures. I wasn't expecting to find that. Conventional wisdom dictates that I should open this up enough to find the wall studs and frame in for a replacement section of drywall.

The problem is there are no studs in at the level where the cinderblocks are. There is the concrete that fills in behind and in front of the steel mesh. Could I use thinset mortar to fill in this space? Or should I just keep chipping away untill I find studs to attach drywall?

I think I can just grab the steel mesh with the wings of the old work box I have.
Attached Thumbnails
How best to patch this wall?-p1000232.jpg   How best to patch this wall?-p1000233.jpg   How best to patch this wall?-p1000234.jpg   How best to patch this wall?-p1000236.jpg  

Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 12:47 PM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,469
Default

How best to patch this wall?


I suggest Durrabond--20 minute-(powdered bag mix)---Just trowel several coats,top with blue for easier sanding--

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
Jim F (03-06-2011)
Old 03-06-2011, 08:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

How best to patch this wall?


Better to mount the outlet box about 5' off the ground. It gives you a range to pull out the fridge.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:31 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,736
Default

How best to patch this wall?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
Better to mount the outlet box about 5' off the ground. It gives you a range to pull out the fridge.
Ron
The refrigerator cord comes out the bottom left of the unit. How does 5 ft from floor improve my range?
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 10:57 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

How best to patch this wall?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim F View Post
The refrigerator cord comes out the bottom left of the unit. How does 5 ft from floor improve my range?
It doesn't.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 11:34 AM   #6
Remodeler
 
JCarsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 33
Default

How best to patch this wall?


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
I suggest Durrabond--20 minute-(powdered bag mix)---Just trowel several coats,top with blue for easier sanding--
That's the fix I use. Mix it up fairly thick for the first coat and lay it on heavy.
JCarsten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 08:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,736
Default

How best to patch this wall?


Do they sell Durabond 20 at Lowes or HD? I really am limited locally.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 07:45 AM   #8
Remodeler
 
JCarsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 33
Default

How best to patch this wall?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim F View Post
Do they sell Durabond 20 at Lowes or HD? I really am limited locally.
Yes comes in a white or brown bag. Should be in the aisle with drywall. There will be several different kinds- 5,20,45,120, etc. The number represents how much working time you have before it sets up. Make sure to grab the right one.
JCarsten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 05:02 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,736
Default

How best to patch this wall?


All I found at lowes was the Sheetrock Easy Sand 90. I did finally find a hardware store that sells Durabond 90. I don't know if we've been hit harder than most by the recession but it seems like a lot of the so called supply stores in my area have a growing list of products that once sold, but no longer carry because the demand dropped off. I also found Plaster of Paris in a local paint store but I don't know if that would work the same or not.
Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 05:13 PM   #10
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,469
Default

How best to patch this wall?


Depot has the 20 and 45--even 5 minute(That will get hard as you mix it)

The 90 will work --but 1 1/2 hours between coats? O.K. if there is an all night Indiana Jones marathon going on.-----Mike---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 10:07 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 344
Default

How best to patch this wall?


If you are not going to run that wire the way it should be done, the very least you can do is protect it with conduit, rather than just mud over it.
__________________
Work is for those who can not fish.
Mop in Hand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 05:24 PM   #12
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,469
Default

How best to patch this wall?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mop in Hand View Post
If you are not going to run that wire the way it should be done, the very least you can do is protect it with conduit, rather than just mud over it.
????????????????????
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:24 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 1,736
Default

How best to patch this wall?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mop in Hand View Post
If you are not going to run that wire the way it should be done, the very least you can do is protect it with conduit, rather than just mud over it.
It may be hard to tell by the picture but there is steel mesh and going to be a half inch of Durabond 90 (90 was all I could find anywhere I'll wait) covering that conductor. They typically run through a wall cavity behind 1/2 inch of drywall. The wood beam is notch to accommodate the wire. I'm confident it will be well protected otherwise your conduit suggestion is a good one.

Jim F is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wall construction for insulation support WillK Building & Construction 3 12-09-2010 01:55 PM
How to patch crack on brick wall ? anku Building & Construction 1 07-05-2009 08:30 AM
Breaking up a long/continuous wall tigereye Interior Decorating 4 03-08-2009 03:43 PM
Load Bearing Wall? Traybae Building & Construction 1 11-05-2006 01:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.