Granite And Wood Countertop??? - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-03-2012, 02:10 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Granite and wood countertop???

I'm pretty new to the whole diy thing...actually my experience is limited to painting and patching holes. Sooo...before I start my kitchen I'm going to make a rolling kitchen island from a base cabinet I got for free. I decided I wanted to make my own countertop, obviously as cheap as possible. But I also like to get creative. I was initially going to just used wood flooring for it, but then decided I wanted to have a 12x12 in granite square on it because it would look cool and I could have a place to put my hot pots. Is that doable? Would I put grout around the edges of the tile between the wood?

Also, I was going to buy some remnant unfinished wood, do I glue and nail to the plywood underneath? what about the edges, how do I finishe them? Any suggestions? Oh and I was also considering using cork flooring...I know there cork countertops, but could cork flooring also be used as a countertop?

Advertisement

kvmommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 01:09 PM   #2
Stuck in the 70's

Rewards Points: 1,018

Granite tiles are a good choice. Edge them with wood trim or purchased tile trim. Use a tiny grout line and unsanded grout.

I was going to suggest checking with a granite fabricator in your area. Sometimes they have small pieces for cheap, but on second thought that is not a good idea. With a rolling cart you don't want it to be top heavy and risk it tipping over on someone. Even with granite tiles this is something to consider.