Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2013, 09:52 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,513
Share |
Default

cabinet crown


is it normal for the joints to not match up nearly perfectly ?
idk if i am cutting wrong, or thats just the way it is. the cabs are not perfectly square. i have dark cherry, and any imperfection shows.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 11:08 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 117
Default

cabinet crown


Getting a perfect match can be done. Probably the easiest way to get it perfect is measure lengths and angles carefully, make all your cuts, trial fit and adjust if necessary, glue and clamp the pieces, then install them on the cabinet.

eandjsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 02:58 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,912
Default

cabinet crown


A picture may help to come up with some ideas on how to do it better.
Did you add a backer to attach it to?
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 03:36 PM   #4
K&B Designer
 
Live_Oak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis,. TN
Posts: 350
Default

cabinet crown


If the cabinets are not perfectly square (they should be) then all of the crown angles that you cut will need to be custom angles, or they won't fit the cabinets. You'll have gaps if you try to fit perfectly cut crown on out of square cabinets. You need an angle finder and a miter saw that cuts more than just a 45. And try to square the cabinets up. That should have been done at install time. Once you get them out of rack, the crown will go easier.
__________________
Do it right from the beginning if you only want to do the job once. It'll be cheaper in the long term.
Live_Oak is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Live_Oak For This Useful Post:
eandjsdad (12-22-2013)
Old 12-22-2013, 05:33 PM   #5
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,290
Default

cabinet crown


When is the last time you trued up your saw? It doesn't take much to check if the saw is true---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 07:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,513
Default

cabinet crown


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
A picture may help to come up with some ideas on how to do it better.
Did you add a backer to attach it to?
no pics, as i didn't install any. i was just try'n it out to see how it goes.
no backer. i don't think i need any. as there is enough interface already there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Live_Oak View Post
If the cabinets are not perfectly square (they should be) then all of the crown angles that you cut will need to be custom angles, or they won't fit the cabinets. You'll have gaps if you try to fit perfectly cut crown on out of square cabinets. You need an angle finder and a miter saw that cuts more than just a 45. And try to square the cabinets up. That should have been done at install time. Once you get them out of rack, the crown will go easier.
are any cabinets "perfectly" square ? i have not checked any of mine. but during install i did find out of square boxs. and how do you square up already assembled boxs ? the install isn't the issue, it was the assembly/manufacture.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
When is the last time you trued up your saw? It doesn't take much to check if the saw is true---
i am using my bro's dewalt with a new $100+ blade. and i am not sure if it was trued up. i think it was, but i do not know. how do i check it ?
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 07:30 PM   #7
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,290
Default

cabinet crown


Use a square and see if the blade is square to the fence---then set the square on the bed of the saw and check that the blade is square ---

A second check?? cut a wide scrap of wood---then flip it over and make a paper thin cut along your original cut---If the paper thin cut is perfectly straight---the fence is true--

Do a similar test against the fence---

Cheap saw or Rolls Royce--they all go out of whack if mishandled or worked hard---

I check mine every time it comes out of the truck,if it's getting used for trim---
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 08:11 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,513
Default

cabinet crown


i just made a few thin cuts. it looks to be true. but i don't have my calipers to check. idk what the tolerance should be. .
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 08:17 PM   #9
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,290
Default

cabinet crown


Make a thin cut--the flip the board over---and cut along the original cut---

Perfect is needed--both back fences must be in line----use a straight edge---if one is out of line with your other,the miters will not be true.

Are you cutting the crown 'nested' against the fence (upside down)---if so,what are you using to keep the crown from moving? do you have crown stops or a home made jig to keep the cuts consistent?
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 08:52 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,513
Default

cabinet crown


well that could just be it. i have no jig. i just held the piece by hand. it felt solid and true. but who knows. i have to come up with some kind of jig. let me get a pic.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 08:55 PM   #11
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,290
Default

cabinet crown


What saw is it? You mentioned DeWalt?
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 09:05 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,513
Default

cabinet crown


charging batteries
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 09:22 PM   #13
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,290
Default

cabinet crown


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
charging batteries
Well---that doesn't make sense---

You can make a simple jig that will get this job done---

You need to male a long --L shaped thing out of some 1/2 Inch scrap plywood----one is the table--the other is the fence---nest the crown ,upside down against the wood fence----glue/pin or otherwise attach a long thin stop to the 'table' so that the crown is always in the same position--

Then fasten this to the saw---double faced tape is dandy--a clamp might work---

Then cut the jig---45 left and 45 right---remove the loose scrap and you now have a throw away crown stop jig---

I've also hammered a wood plug into the holes in the front of the saw and screwed wood stops into the plugs---
dewalt crown stops - Google Search
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 09:22 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,513
Default

cabinet crown


................................
Attached Thumbnails
cabinet crown-img_2280.jpg  
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 09:31 PM   #15
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,290
Default

cabinet crown


Nice saw----make your self a jig---if the crown slips the tiniest bit while cutting,you miters will be off---

If you have double faced sticky tape.you could just stick a block to both sides of the table---

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cabinet crown molding Vadim Carpentry 6 11-26-2011 08:31 PM
Cabinet Crown Molding highchile Carpentry 1 02-24-2010 03:49 PM
Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range? gate1way2 Carpentry 3 10-15-2008 11:13 PM
crown angle for corner cabinet... kemerick Carpentry 8 10-24-2007 09:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.