Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-02-2013, 12:51 PM   #1

Share |

Bathroom Remodel

I figured I would start my own thread since my questions never cease. To recap some info from other threads; my house was built in 1978. The bathroom I'm doing is downstairs and is up against a foundation wall. I don't have many pics of it before, but all I can say is it was various shades of baby blue throughout including the toilet and tub. I'm a complete novice, so please bear with my ignorance on numerous issues.

At this point, demo is almost complete.

I'm going to attempt a tile shower. The first step I believe is getting my structure up to par. You can see the dry rot in one pic, so I was curious how I do that with the walls sitting on the rotted portion?

That is a vent line for the tub drain in the pic, and the rot occurred where the vinyl flooring met the tub. Not sure if it was appropriate for them to have different subfloor levels for the tub and the rest of the bathroom.
Attached Thumbnails
Bathroom Remodel-demo1.jpg   Bathroom Remodel-demo2.jpg  

Last edited by Outdoorbum; 07-02-2013 at 12:59 PM.
Outdoorbum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 01:08 PM   #2

Bathroom Remodel

Any ideas or suggestions based on what is shown thus far is greatly appreciated. I have some tiling resources I'm looking at that are pretty extensive, and all of them mention structure as the first step. I've read about deflection calculators on here as well, so for the floor I will go under tonight and provide details about joist size and spacing. For the walls, I'm not sure what special thought I should give to the block wall in the back.

Old 07-02-2013, 01:18 PM   #3

Bathroom Remodel

Is this in a basement?
That rotted subflooring needs to go.
Old 07-02-2013, 02:40 PM   #4

Bathroom Remodel