Bath/shower Remodel? - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-17-2008, 01:05 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

bath/shower remodel?

I'm new to this kind of forum so patience, please. Firstly, I am, for the most part, NOT a DIY guy in terms of remodeling. I am a senior citizen and don't do much work any more.

We have a 12 yr old Mfg home. I have an acrylic shower stall that is beginning to mold, discolor and a small crack has appeared at the base.

Researching outfits like ReBath, Bath Crest, Bathfitting (the national chains) has turned up some horror stories. Are they as bad as the many complaints seem to indicate or is it just a numbers game?

Am I better off refinishing? May not be able to get away with a refinish as my wife would like to see a bathtub in there.

How do I know what a fair price would be?

Any advice appreciated.

Advertisement

ramblemutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 12:18 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 75

bath/shower remodel?

A fair price has little to do with the price itself.

It has to do with the company giving you the price. A low price might seem like a fair price as long as you don't mind that the company doing the work is hiring illegals, has no insurance, might run off with your down payment or walk out half way through the job or cut corners that won't show up until 18 months from now. A price might seem high to you if the company is legitimate, has insurance and licenses, does quality work and stands behind it with a warranty and charges a price that it takes to accomplish this.