Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-28-2010, 03:34 AM   #1

Share |

Bath Remodel & Ideas Needed - Noob Alert

Hi there, sorry for the long-winded intro. Skip to the pics if you don't want to read.

I'm glad that I found this forum since it looks to be one of the most popular and populated sites out there.

I hail from Southern California and was fortunate enough to purchase my first home last year. My 3 major renovations will be the bathroom, kitchen and backyard. The house itself is a cozy, 1100 sq. ft. home but the lot is a good size at 7,000 sq. ft. So yes, I have a large backyard complete with a 100 ft. ash tree.

Though I plan to hire professionals when the job gets too much, I am intrigued by the idea of using my own blood, sweat and tears to fix up my first home.

WARNING: I have ZERO experience with home renovations of any kind but have basic tool skills (ie I can use a hammer, know what a Phillips is & have replaced the "plastic thingies" behind a broken toilet bowl). One thing I am proud of when we moved in is that the previous owner left a wall mounted, wooden TV stand in the bedroom corner. I tore out the 16 long nails or so, thereby ripping part of the wall in the process. I was able to patch up the wall and paint over it making look brand new. I DO have a fairly high IQ and can follow instructions, but I'm afraid ingenuity, creativity and playing McGuyver are challenges for me.

So, I've decided to try out the bathroom first, primarily because it is the smallest area. From my research, I've learned that the first thing to consider is design, form and function. Hence I am here to gather advice for every step of the way.

First, the specs. It is a typical, rectangular bathroom that is in the "small" range.

LENGTH: 8.75 feet
WIDTH: 5 feet