Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-10-2012, 11:01 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Adding shelves to an already-tiled shower stall?

This seemed like the right area to post my question... My bathroom has a tiled shower stall with a lack of storage: no shelves or surfaces to put stuff on. I'd like to add some permanent shelving in (ie, not those tension-bar setups) and the first thing that came to mind was basic porcelain shelves like these.

I've never done this type of work before and in researching it, it seems like a lot of people suggest adding shelves as you're tiling the shower. Given that that's not an option since the stall's already tiled, is it possible or recommended to install a porcelain shelf onto an already-tiled wall? Or maybe there's some other type of permanent shelving that would work with tiles?

I'm not sure how to approach this and would definitely appreciate a nudge in the right direction!

Thanks very much,
m19

Last edited by Morgan190; 01-10-2012 at 11:07 AM.
Morgan190 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 11:27 AM   #2
Love for Construction

Angle grinder, diamond wheel and a steady hand.

Don't let it plunge too deep to take out your membrane, this is the tricky part in the corner and corners of the piece you are taking out (just go deep enough in the corner to score the tile and finish with a dremel or something of the sorts).

Cut to the size you need for the mounting portion of the shelf, remove tile piece. Thinset shelf on, tape to hold in place while dries. Grout. Done.

Old 01-10-2012, 11:55 AM   #3
I can fix that!