Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2010, 01:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

yard hydrant


Hi
I just finished installing a new Campbell FrostproofYard Hydrant and turned the water on from the house and we get water coming out of the drain hole but none out of the faucet

cindyc123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 01:21 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

yard hydrant


Hi Cindy. Welcome to the forum.

Drain hole? On the faucet?

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 01:37 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

yard hydrant


yes. It's set up like a fire hydrant.There is a drain hole at the botom of the 6 foot pipe that is burried. That is to prevent the water from freezing
cindyc123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 02:23 PM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

yard hydrant


If it's buried, how do you know it has water coming out?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 02:43 PM   #5
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Rewards Points: 250
Default

yard hydrant


The hole is the waste and it's job is to drain downs the pipe that is above the frost level. However it sounds like the lever in the valve body is not closing the waste and that type of yard hydrant can not legally be installed unless it has a backflow preventer attached to the inlet
__________________
Always ask to see your contractors license!
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 05:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 102
Rewards Points: 75
Default

yard hydrant


Cindyc,

I think the problem is more like you need a rebuild kit for it, not sure who the manufacturer is but if you go to where it was purchased they should have parts or the ability to order them. One thing you can try is to shut off the water. Remove the head from the yard hydrant. Have someone turn on the water. Let the water run through the hydrant for a few seconds 5-10. then turn off water reassemble unit and see if problem corrects itself. It is possible that either the plunger is damaged or has debris in it. Disassembling and reassembling it may correct it.

Sorry They are correct you should not have it installed if its use is for potable (drinkable water) However if it is for utility then there is no need for a backflow preventer. The worry is that when the unit is drainning it can actually pull the drained water back into the water supply if there is a vaccuum pulled on it.

If flushing the unit doen't work then you need a rebuild kit and it should correct the problem.
Work4living is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:31 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

yard hydrant


This is a brand new Campbell unit. I am wondering if there is something that needs to be adjusted.
cindyc123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:33 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

yard hydrant


This is being used in a barn
cindyc123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:39 PM   #9
Licensed Master Plumber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 476
Rewards Points: 250
Default

yard hydrant


If it is connected to your water system ( the same well and piping that feeds your house ) it must have a BFP, especially in a barn yard area where feces and god knows what else could end up in your water system.

If the hydrant is brand new I would dig it up and take it back, something is jammed under the waste seat.
__________________
Always ask to see your contractors license!
NHMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:59 PM   #10
Picky Plumber
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

yard hydrant


Likely you just need to adjust the linkage... the rod that goes into shaft @ hand should have an adjustment on it....

Plumber26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Grade Forever-Flooded Yard? TheMedicsWife Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 04-12-2010 12:46 PM
Uphill neighbor says I'm flooding his yard.. EdwardC Landscaping & Lawn Care 10 04-11-2010 11:03 PM
Front yard decorating tips jay_chua Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 03-10-2010 08:00 AM
Retaining Wall and Muddy Yard rjschwar Landscaping & Lawn Care 10 02-24-2010 01:55 PM
Well Water ? - No water at yard hydrants... but do have water in house mntnvew Plumbing 73 01-11-2010 09:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.