Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2008, 05:15 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Share |
Default

Whirlpool Tub


Wow this got crazy. I think I can make this easy on myself. My watter supply is cpvc not copper. So does that erase any debate? Just bond/ground issues if you have copper supplies? Need a drink after this riot LOL. J/k. Thx.

MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 05:38 PM   #17
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Whirlpool Tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by Orangeguy View Post
I have been contracting for many years now and would first like to say that it has been nearly 12 years since I have seen or installed a whirlpool with metalic pipeing.I am not just an electronics tech .I have multiple tickets and have since the insults have decided that most of the people on this site giving advice are single tracked when it comes to there advice. I don't think that a forum is the place to insult anyone! I have read many different posts that are frankly scary! I have never had a problem with the methods I have employed over the years I just got off the phone with the master electrician that I have used for the last 7 years and he has never had to bond a plastic piped whirlpool!I take his word over any of you guys. I know he is who he says he is.The best piece of advice I can give is to CALL AN ELECTRICIAN.***Moderator edit: personal insult removed***happy building!

Relax buddie, its a DIY forum, I've been doing this for a long time, I know whats required by code, call anyone you want, just telling you the truth about the requirements of the NEC, like them or not.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 05:41 PM   #18
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Whirlpool Tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
Ok Chris, we obviously disagree. Right, wrong, or indifferent, every city in this metropolitan area that I can think of requires what I describe. I understand that the NEC handbook is not a code book, but the NFPA puts it out as a guidance document and I assure you that those of us that spend our days in the codes often utilize guidance documents. The IAEI's book is another such document.
I'm just telling you what the code says...


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
What would you suggest that the bonding lug that comes on nearly every hydromassage tub motor sold today is for???
Just because the tub manufacture buys a motor with a lug does not mean it has to be used.


Check this subject out at Mike Holts forum and let me know how you make out.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 06:00 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Default

Whirlpool Tub


What about what I said?
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 07:04 PM   #20
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Whirlpool Tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeVila View Post
What about what I said?
Have you checked to see what your local building / electrical inspector says on the issue?

The exact interpretation of the code comes down to your local inspector, they will have the final word on the matter.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 07:24 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Default

Whirlpool Tub


NO. What would you ground it to? There is no metal plumbing.
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 07:35 PM   #22
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Whirlpool Tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeVila View Post
NO. What would you ground it to? There is no metal plumbing.
We were talking about bonding, not grounding, as far as I can tell in re-reading the messages here. I don't see that there is anything to bond the motor to or any requirement to do so if you have plastic / pvc pipes.

You understand that the issue of bonding here we are speaking of in entirely separate than the issue of properly grounding the tubs electrical system?

How did you wire the circuit? Did you run a 4 wire setup? What gage wire/ what size breaker? What kind of conduit did you use? These would be great details to post so others can comment and help you ensure this is wired properly. Do you have a disconnect for the tub in site of the tub?

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 07:08 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Whirlpool Tub


a disconnect can just be a plug!
Orangeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 10:06 AM   #24
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Whirlpool Tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by Orangeguy View Post
a disconnect can just be a plug!
Yes, if it is a very small tub that just has a plug and cord. Most tubs are 240 and are directly wired.
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 11:07 AM   #25
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Whirlpool Tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Yes, if it is a very small tub that just has a plug and cord. Most tubs are 240 and are directly wired.
Jamie
Not hot tubs Jamie, bath tubs. Hydromassage tubs in bathrooms are pretty much always 110v cord and plug, at least here they are. Hot tubs like the ones you'd put on a deck are a different animal and the aforementioned disconnect is needed.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 11:11 AM   #26
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Whirlpool Tub


MikeVila, all bonding arguments aside, everyone will agree that there is definately no bonding requirement if you have a double insulated motor. In my experience, most of the time when the tub motor doesn't have a lug on it it is a double insulated motor.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 04:26 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Default

Whirlpool Tub


For the electrical I ran a dedicated 20 amp circuit per manufacturers directions. 20 amp GFCI, 12/2 UF ran in ridgid pvc (gray conduit) ran under the house.
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 09:32 AM   #28
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Whirlpool Tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeVila View Post
For the electrical I ran a dedicated 20 amp circuit per manufacturers directions. 20 amp GFCI, 12/2 UF ran in ridgid pvc (gray conduit) ran under the house.
That'll work!
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 02:07 PM   #29
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Whirlpool Tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
Not hot tubs Jamie, bath tubs. Hydromassage tubs in bathrooms are pretty much always 110v cord and plug, at least here they are. Hot tubs like the ones you'd put on a deck are a different animal and the aforementioned disconnect is needed.
Different terminology that I am used to around here, most people here interchange the terms hot tub / spa / whirlpool and they normally mean a multi-person 250+gallon unit that is hard wired. I was thinking of the kind that I am putting on my back porch that is about 72"x72".

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 07:33 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Default

Whirlpool Tub


Yeah, I call them a hot tub, spa, or jacuzzi. Like you said different people got different words. I refer to the indoor units as whirlpool's or jet tubs. I'd like to have an outdoor hot tub though!!!!

MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Relocating drain/trap in manufac. home for whirlpool, HELP!!! MikeVila Plumbing 7 12-10-2008 09:04 PM
Whirlpool Duet tryinitmyself Appliances 4 03-17-2008 12:07 PM
tile step into whirlpool ekaplan1020 Remodeling 1 04-09-2006 10:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.