Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-19-2007, 09:49 PM   #1
weekend warrior

Share |

where is my septic cleanout?

I'm new to this house, and new to the idea of a septic system. I've had city sewer all my life. I've learned a lot as far as the operation.

However, oddly enough the other day the previous owner stopped by and told me that the "sewer used to backup once in a while".

I want to have it checked out, maybe I'll throw a video camera in the hole. The thing is, I haven't found the cleanout.

The photos show where the leach field is, and I have a general idea where the tank is. The circles are some sorts of piping access.

Another odd thing is, the sewer pipe runs all the way below my basement slab, meaning the tank has got to be pretty darn low in the ground...

Do you think I should just call a septic pumper, and they'd know just where to find the access?

Or should I call some sort of septic technician?

I

Last edited by johnny331; 06-19-2007 at 09:51 PM.
johnny331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 09:56 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor

I have never seen a clean out on the leach field. My tank does not have a clean out. When mine is pumped, they bring in a mini back hoe, scrap the dirt, slide the cover and pump. My tank is about 2-3 feet deep.
You just may nor have a clean out. Most I have seen will rise from the ground a foot or so.
If the swer backs up from time to time, you may have a saturated leach field that may have to be replaced.

Old 06-19-2007, 10:00 PM   #3
weekend warrior

I think those circles in my photo are some sort of way to flushout the leechfield, at least that's what a buddy said.

Doesn't the septic tank have to have some sort of riser pipe to stick a vacuum hose down? Everyone in town I drive past has one in the yard...
Old 06-19-2007, 10:03 PM   #4