Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2012, 09:16 PM   #1
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Share |
Question

Where to get septic alarms?


Hello,

As I start my planning to finish my basement there is one thing I need to install soon, the septic alarm.

My plumbing runs out to a septic tank, which empties into a pump tank, which pumps the stuff up a minor incline to the drain field.

In the past I have had two pumps fail and it backup into the basement, coming out of the washing machine drain pipe. The laundry has since been moved to the living level. Now if the septic backs up it will first come out of the master bath shower.

What I want to do is install an alarm in the basement for the pump tank but cannot seem to find a source or instructions. Most of what I see are boxes with a "6 ft power cord and 15' float cord. From the pump tank to where I want the box in the house is easily 2 feet.

Any suggestion will be appreciated.

Thank you,
Fred

ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,323
Default

Where to get septic alarms?


The reason is most are installed outside on a 4 X 4 post.
Why does it need to be inside?

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:33 PM   #3
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Question

Where to get septic alarms?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
The reason is most are installed outside on a 4 X 4 post.
Why does it need to be inside?
Ahhhh, to hear it better? Don't want to disturb the neighbors?

You got me, I dont have a good answer for this. I just thought they were supposed to be in the house.

I don't know how loud these alarms are but it could be mighty rude to the neighborhood and embarrassing to me if this alarm went of at an improper time.

The first time I had my breakdown was about 11:30 PM Christmas night two years ago.

The smell woke me. At first I thought it was a fire from the fireplace.
ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:36 PM   #4
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,858
Default

Where to get septic alarms?


you can always lengthen the cords with water proof splice kits or junction boxes
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:38 PM   #5
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Default

Where to get septic alarms?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEplumber View Post
you can always lengthen the cords with water proof splice kits or junction boxes
So the junction box gets attached to the crock (pump tank)? The float switch wired into the wire coming from the house? My intent is to dig in conduit and run the wire through PVC conduit thru the basement wall and into the alarm. This is if I understand you correctly.
ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:56 PM   #6
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,858
Default

Where to get septic alarms?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ACR_SCOUT View Post
So the junction box gets attached to the crock (pump tank)? The float switch wired into the wire coming from the house? My intent is to dig in conduit and run the wire through PVC conduit thru the basement wall and into the alarm. This is if I understand you correctly.
check this out--Liberty Pumps
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:57 PM   #7
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Default

Where to get septic alarms?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEplumber View Post
check this out--Liberty Pumps
what a concept.
ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 10:44 PM   #8
moderator
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Idaho
Posts: 6,858
Default

Where to get septic alarms?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ACR_SCOUT View Post
what a concept.
I know nothing about the product. I do know though that alarm boxes and pump controls are installed indoors all the time.
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:09 AM   #9
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,200
Default

Where to get septic alarms?


You must have a very different electrical arrangement than mine. I have a similar septic setup, 1500 gallon tank empties into a 1000 gallon pump chamber. The pump is wired through a control box in my basement, which includes an alarm, which is connected to the high water float in the pump chamber. There is a test on the alarm in the basement, plus a light which shows green as long as the level is within standard tolerance in the pump chamber. Goes red if the level gets too high, and the alarm goes off simultaneously. I thought most systems were wired like this.

My alarm panel failed about ten years ago, I replaced it with a new one, pretty simple. You may have a different issue, but if you have a pump control panel in the basement, you may be able to replace it with a panel with alarm. This assumes you have a high level float in the pump chamber.
Daniel Holzman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:17 AM   #10
US ARMY RETIRED
 
ACR_SCOUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 100
Question

Where to get septic alarms?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Holzman View Post
You must have a very different electrical arrangement than mine. I have a similar septic setup, 1500 gallon tank empties into a 1000 gallon pump chamber. The pump is wired through a control box in my basement, which includes an alarm, which is connected to the high water float in the pump chamber. There is a test on the alarm in the basement, plus a light which shows green as long as the level is within standard tolerance in the pump chamber. Goes red if the level gets too high, and the alarm goes off simultaneously. I thought most systems were wired like this.

My alarm panel failed about ten years ago, I replaced it with a new one, pretty simple. You may have a different issue, but if you have a pump control panel in the basement, you may be able to replace it with a panel with alarm. This assumes you have a high level float in the pump chamber.
All I have is 110 volt line going from the main service panel out to a junction box on the side of the pump chamber. Nothing fancy. The pump float switch is wired inline with the pump.
ACR_SCOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 11:47 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
Default

Where to get septic alarms?


edited


Last edited by psilva8; 01-16-2012 at 11:52 AM.
psilva8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
septic emergency? help! denemante Plumbing 47 11-21-2011 01:05 PM
Septic problem or vent problem? wilsonstark Plumbing 9 01-17-2011 06:35 PM
septic tank problems. littles Plumbing 1 02-24-2010 09:30 PM
Septic Newbie Needs Advice flyboy Plumbing 5 04-06-2009 06:05 PM
AC Smoke alarms - Nuisance Alarms jamiedolan General DIY Discussions 8 10-27-2008 07:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.