What Size Meter Do I Need? - Plumbing - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2014, 11:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What size meter do I need?


Added second floor bathroom. Total 2 in house now. Currently has 5/8 meter. One faucet open has good pressure and flow, but when I open another faucet , the pressure drops drastically. What should I check? House was vacant for 3 years/ water shut off. All new copper pipes except the main coming inside which is old. House built in 1920.

Advertisement

Aminoacid2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 11:32 PM   #2
Lord of Slums
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit Mi
Posts: 807
Rewards Points: 636
Default

What size meter do I need?


probably shut offs corroded under sink, replace them.

Advertisement

mj12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 11:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What size meter do I need?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mj12 View Post
probably shut offs corroded under sink, replace them.
Shower is also affected. All faucets affected.
Aminoacid2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 11:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,758
Rewards Points: 632
Default

What size meter do I need?


Also remove the aerators on the faucets to clean them out.
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...ucet&FORM=IGRE
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-20-2014)
Old 01-19-2014, 11:37 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What size meter do I need?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Also remove the aerators on the faucets to clean them out.
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...ucet&FORM=IGRE
I already did that.
Aminoacid2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 11:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,758
Rewards Points: 632
Default

What size meter do I need?


Cheap enough and good practice to just change the shut offs.
Buy 1/4 turn stops. (the real name for the shut offs)
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 11:47 PM   #7
Plumber/Contractor
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,259
Rewards Points: 2,600
Default

What size meter do I need?


I bet the main is restricted to about the diameter of a pencil if it's been there since 1920
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 11:49 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What size meter do I need?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Cheap enough and good practice to just change the shut offs.
Buy 1/4 turn stops. (the real name for the shut offs)
I can do that.
Now is it typical to have 3/4 line coming into a 5/8 meter then 3/4 through house with 1/2 take offs?
Aminoacid2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 12:19 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,580
Rewards Points: 1,704
Default

What size meter do I need?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminoacid2014 View Post
I can do that.
Now is it typical to have 3/4 line coming into a 5/8 meter then 3/4 through house with 1/2 take offs?
Yep. Question you need to answer is the pipe from the house to the street galvanized steel?
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 12:22 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What size meter do I need?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghostmaker View Post
Yep. Question you need to answer is the pipe from the house to the street galvanized steel?
I'm certain it's not copper. If it is galvanized would the city replace?
Aminoacid2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 12:17 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,580
Rewards Points: 1,704
Default

What size meter do I need?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminoacid2014 View Post
I'm certain it's not copper. If it is galvanized would the city replace?
Nope that would normally be you footing that cost. See if you can get estimates for a line push.
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 12:42 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,203
Rewards Points: 1,662
Default

What size meter do I need?


What's the static pressure on your side of the meter?
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 12:47 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,580
Rewards Points: 1,704
Default

What size meter do I need?


Static pressure readings will not show volume of water flow through a pipe.
Ghostmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 12:54 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What size meter do I need?


So I have a volume problem? Any one faucet open has perfect volume/ pressure.
Aminoacid2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 01:03 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,203
Rewards Points: 1,662
Default

What size meter do I need?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghostmaker View Post
Static pressure readings will not show volume of water flow through a pipe.
So why do we like to have 60# static rather than 10# static.

Advertisement

SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
meter & main service panel upgrade from 100amp to 200amp CapeCod153 Electrical 2 03-26-2013 08:23 AM
Please help! Meter socket question fraghouse Electrical 9 11-27-2012 02:36 PM
Tiny elbows on meter? pcampbell HVAC 24 10-06-2009 10:54 AM
Water meter aggravations KE2KB Plumbing 8 03-21-2009 07:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts