Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Plumbing

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-01-2009, 08:46 PM   #1

Share |

What is this pipe and why is water always coming from it?

Hello, I'm a complete novice and I've been unable to find an answer anywhere. There is a copper pipe going into my laundry tub, and water continuously trickles from it. Is this normal? Is there some why to stop it.

The set up is this- the main line comes into the house, through the water meter and what appears to be a regulator, The very first branch off is to the cold water side of the laundry sink/tub.

the pipe runs along another couple feet then turns at a right angle and proceeds up the wall. The next branch is the mystery (to me) pipe, which runs back a couple feet to drain into the laundry tub. At the main line, it uses some sort of connector I've not seen before. (I am wondering if the rounded riged half dollar sized thing in front can be turned to shut it off).

About 6" above the the connector is the connector and valve for the washer, then the line goes throughout the rest of the house.

There is water continuously trickling from this copper pipe, and it makes a sound like the release of pressure- I've lived in this home several years, but only noticed this in the past 2 months. Did this used to be capped, and it fell off? Or is that round thing a valve I should adjust? Thanks in advance for any ideas at all, I'm completely lost!

BobbyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 09:34 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing

If you can,post a picture of it

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 09:37 PM   #3

Maybe it's the condensation line from your AC -- usually drips outside but maybe they just put it into the utility sink.
jayp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 09:40 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing

could also be t & p valve for w h.. You just never know.. That's why I suggested a pic.
Old 04-01-2009, 09:49 PM   #5